January Clearance - Now On!

Zinsser B-I-N Shellac-Based Primer Sealer 2.5Ltr (10130)

£ 44.99INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Zinsser B-I-N Shellac-Based Primer Sealer 2.5Ltr (10130)

Shellac-based primer, sealer and stain killer. Suitable for use on interior surfaces and spot priming of exterior surfaces. Offers excellent adhesion to glossy surfaces, including glass. Blocks stubborn and persistent stains including water stains, marker pens and more. Seals porous surfaces with excellent enamel holdout, even sealing bleeding knots and sap streaks. Permanently blocks every kind of odour. Touch-dry in 20 minutes. Recoatable in 45 minutes. Hard-dry in 1-3 days.

  • Touch-Dry in 20mins
  • Hard-Dry in 1-3 Days
  • Excellent Adhesion to Glossy Surfaces
  • Blocks Stubborn & Persistent Stains
  • Seals Porous Surfaces
  • Permanently Blocks Odour

More Info

View all: Zinsser Primer Paints

£44.99INC VAT (£18.00/Ltr)

Add to basket for...

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent primer Thus excellent primer is my go to paint for all previously finished surfaces. It goes on easily, covers well and dries much quicker than water based competitors allowing multiple coats in a few hours.
Date published: 2022-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great product that does the We needed a product that sealed knots in would and was recommended this by a decorator. It works and seals the knots excellently
Date published: 2022-01-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Runny or what!? Brought this as I needed a quick drying stabiliser/primer to prep some internal doors before top coating. This paint has got to be the thinnest product I've seen yet. It should really be called a sealer rather than a paint. It's too thin to apply by brush to a vertical surface as just runs everywhere. It also melted the paint below and this then started to get dragged around with the brush. The more you try to correct it the worse it gets. Ended up leaving for a few days to harden enough to sand flat. To be fair it did work and next coat of waterbased primer adhered fine. Shame I brought the larger can as I don't think I will be using it again as too messy.
Date published: 2022-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect primer Superb primer does what it say's on the tin used it to prime varnished skirting boards and facings no need to sand down fantastic.
Date published: 2021-12-05
  • y_2022, m_1, d_28, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_381
  • loc_en_GB, sid_10130, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 32ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Painting a wall prone to mould and damp, would this be suitable?

Asked by: Gemzino
Hello Thank you for your recent enquiry. BIN primer/sealer will be perfect for blocking any mould or water staining, although none of our primers can hold back damp. If there is damp coming through the wall this would need to be remedied before the primer and decorative top coat are applied, with the area having a moisture content of 12% or less. Once the area is suitably prepared, one or two coats of primer should be applied by brush or roller at a coverage rate of approximately 10m2/L/coat, with a re-coat time of 45 minutes. Once this has dried your choice of decorative top coat may be applied. We recommend the area is clean, dry and sound prior to applying the primer. For this we would advise cleaning with hot soapy water, rinsing with warm water then wiping over with methylated spirit. In the areas where there is mould, a fungicidal wash would be be applied to kill any remaining mould or mildew spores. I hope this helps.
Answered by: Zinsser Product Support
Date published: 2022-01-24

Just ordered MDF shelving for the garage. Would this stuff be good to seal the MDF for use in a damp environment?

Asked by: Micky7895
Hello Thank you for your recent enquiry. Our go to primer for the project you are looking to undertake would be Bulls Eye 123 as this is more suited to areas of humidity. Two coats should be applied by brush or roller at a coverage rate of approximately 10m2/L/coat, with a re-coat time of 1 hour in normal drying conditions. Once this has dried your choice of decorative top coat may be applied, either oil or water based. Both the air and substrate temperature should be 10% and rising when primer is applied. I hope this helps.
Answered by: Zinsser Product Support
Date published: 2021-12-03

Do I need to undercoat after using this primer?

Asked by: Ste47
Hello Thank you for your recent enquiry. When using BIN it isn't necessary for an undercoat to be applied and your decorative top coat may be applied after 45 minutes. Should you wish to use an undercoat this will also be fine. I hope this helps.
Answered by: Zinsser Product Support
Date published: 2022-01-19

Sanding

I need to sand between coats for an optimal finish before top coat. How long should it be left before a light sanding?
Asked by: Walenut
Hi. Thanks for your enquiry. Our best recommendation would be to allow a minimum of 45 minutes between coats. I hope this helps
Answered by: Zinsser Product Support
Date published: 2022-01-10

What paint can I use on top of this?

I've been recommended this paint to help with condensation mould. Once I've applied it to the wall, do I need a specific paint over the top? Also, will it affect how it works.
Asked by: Trev84
Hi. Thanks for your enquiry. The BIN primer/sealer itself does not contain a biocide, which is what prevents mould growth. However, it can be used as a primer/sealer on a wide range of surfaces such as wood, plaster or a previously painted surface. It can also be used as adhesion promoting primer for those hard to stick surfaces and as a stain blocker. It is capable of blocking many stains such as water damage, nicotine, soot and knots. The protection against mould growth is commonly found in the decorative top coat. The Perma-White interior (matt = 1289G or satin = 3939G) is excellent for areas of high humidity with the added benefit of anti-mould properties. I hope this helps.
Answered by: Zinsser Product Support
Date published: 2022-01-08
  • y_2022, m_1, d_27, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_421
  • loc_en_GB, sid_10130, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 72ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: BV SEO Content for this product did not include verbose reviews.;
Specification
Brand Zinsser
Coating & Finishes Drying Time Touch-Dry in 20 Minutes
Coating & Finishing Type Matt
Colour White
Coverage Per Litre 12.5 m²/Ltr
Label Info 1: Signal Word Danger
Label Info 2: Hazard Statements H225 Highly flammable liquid and vapourH317 May cause an allergic skin reaction.H318 Causes serious eye damage.
Label Info 3: Precautionary Statements P102 Keep out of reach of children.P103 Read label before use.P101 If medical advice is needed, have product container or label at hand.P210 Keep away from heat, hot surfaces, sparks, open flames and other ignition sources. No smoking.P233 Keep container tightly closed.P280 Wear protective gloves/protective clothing/eye protection/face protection.P310 Immediately call a POISON CENTRE/doctor/ …P305 IF IN EYES:P351 Rinse cautiously with water for several minutes.
Label Info 5: Hazardous Chemical Content Resin acids and Rosin acids, fumarated, esters with glycerol
Liquid Base Solvent-Based
Manufacturer Guarantee 2 Year Manufacturer's Guarantee (T&Cs Apply)
Pack Size 1
Parent Colour White
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Product Type B-I-N Shellac-Based Primer Sealer
Range Name B-I-N
Volume 2.5 Ltr

Hazardous - Delivery unavailable for any offshore location.

Downloads

Safety Data Sheet (COSHH)