Save Time, Please use Click & Collect

Wylex 32A SP Type B Plug-In MCB (87979)

£ 10.99INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Wylex 32A SP Type B Plug-In MCB (87979)

Modern alternative to fuses for Wylex Standard Consumer Units. Single pole, 230V AC, B curve, 3kA MCBs. BS EN 60898.

  • Plug-In Fitting
  • Type B Curve
  • Retro Fit into Old Standard Range Units
  • Colour Coded

More Info

View all: Wylex MCBs

£10.99INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Wylex 32A SP Type B Plug-In MCB is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 38.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_5, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_GB, sid_87979, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 19ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mcb Great product fit straight into my old Wyler consumer unit. Just the job
Date published: 2019-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy Really good buy would recommend no fault at all with this
Date published: 2019-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant item This is a really good product and I have now replaced all of my old fuses which needed wiring if they blew with these. Very easy to fit and great peace of mind. I have arthritis and osteoarthritis which made it difficult for me to get the fuses out and rewire. I would recommend anybody to replace their old fuses with these.
Date published: 2019-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy fuse replacement I purchased this to replace an old style fuse in my fuse box super easy to fit no more crawling under the stairs and replacing the fiddly thin wire in my old style fuses!
Date published: 2018-12-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Spade dimensions There doesn't seem to be dimensions of the spade distance in the info guide. Subsequently, it did not fit into our fuse board. I guess we have an old, old standard board.
Date published: 2018-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RETRO FIT MCB FOR FUSE CARRIER THESE RETRO FIT MCB'S ARE PERFECT TO FIT INTO THE OLD STYLE WYLEX BOARDS. KEEPING THE COST DOWN OF HAVING TO REPLACE THE CONSUMER UNIT. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plugin circuit breaker Excellent product, easy fit in seconds, fast service as usual from screwfix
Date published: 2018-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product This product was ideal for the job. Very easy to fit and works extremely well. Great price from Screwfix
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wylex breaker Excellent !! Excellent product as you would expect from a reputed company like wylex. Easy to fit and sold from Screwfix at a very competitive price, readily available and super fast service .. A+++
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fuze Does what it promises and it fits perfectly. It is good quality
Date published: 2017-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent This was exactly what I thought it would be and just tge job for my needs!
Date published: 2017-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quick fix A great piece of kit that can get you out of a lot of unnecessary work. Fits in seconds, saves you hours!
Date published: 2017-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plugable Fuse A great solution for older type consumer units and at a great price
Date published: 2017-06-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from exact replacement well done wylex , great replacement these , easy to upgrade old boards with minimal expense , good quality , used lots , easy to install .
Date published: 2017-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick to fit I didnt even relasie that these products existed until a friend mentioned them. Changed 5 rewireable fuses into MCB's in a matter of less than 10 minutes. Very easy to fit.
Date published: 2017-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ideal old fuse board upgrade Got an old fuseboard and don't want to have a full new consumr r unit installed, then this is the next best thing. Ideally you want RCD protection but if that is not possible for your current situation then these are much better than old fuses. Easy to fit. Isolate fuse board by the main switch. Pull out the fuse, unscrew the fuse holder, insert and screw in the MCB holder, insert MCB. Reenergize. Done.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wylex replacement MCB A great deal better than dangerous rewireable units it replaces
Date published: 2016-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WYLEX 32A SP Type B Curve MCB These are a great buy. Easy to install (need a small flat screwdriver). They are color coded to match the amp rating with the color related to the one you currently have. In your old fuse box, the fuses are stamped with the rating on the front face. Note: switch off the electric at the mains unscrew the finger bolt holding a surround plate around the fuses Pull out the old fuse take the screwdriver & remove the color coded alignment plate put in the new one put the surround back switch on the breaker by pushing up Switch on the main. Took me 10 min to do all 6
Date published: 2016-02-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wylex mcb A long overdue job. Easy to replace, very good price. Ordered online, all seven of these items were waiting for me 20 mins later when I arrived at the collection point. Good sevice.
Date published: 2016-01-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good option This is a good way of making safer an old type consumer unit until you upgrade to a new one
Date published: 2015-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy to fit I had been thinking of replacing the wire fuse consumer unit for some time but was put off by the cost. These MCB's achieve the same thing but much cheaper. Turn off the mains, obviously, pull out the old fuse, remove a single screw and the existing guide, fit new guide with single screw, plug new MCB in, turn power back on. 5 minutes. Ordered on-line from Screwfix and picked up on a Sunday afternoon. Tried one to start off but now have purchased the other 6 so that's today's job, might take 10 minutes.
Date published: 2015-10-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality product Easy to fit and a very good replacement for 1970s bakelite fuse wire plug-ins. Excellent value for money.
Date published: 2015-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ideal way to update electrics You can guarantee that a 5amp fuse will blow when it's dark, which makes it a nightmare to fit the appropriate wire into the old fuse terminal. I replaced the old fuses for a customer 2 5amps. 1 15amp. and 3 30amp. You have to replace the coloured base plate that they all are supplied with. All it takes is to turn the electricity off and remove the old one by unscrewed and the new one to be screwed in its place and the fuse slotted into place. Very handy when the gap between the metre and the main electrical shut off switch was too narrow to fit a new fuse box. If you have problems or doubts about doing the job then wise to get a qualified electrician in. The 5 and 15amp fuses change to 6 and 16amps. TThe 30 change's to a 32amp. It's great, no rewiring necessary.
Date published: 2015-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from trip fuses It took a couple of minutes to install and gives confidence that the circuit will trip if anyone cuts the lawnmower cable or does something equally stupid. Wylex kit always works so no need to check performance. It is right that the cover on the consumer unit no longer fits; Wylex would have plenty of customers if they supplied a deeper replacement cover. The specification is wrong about the weight; more like 80 g rather than 80 kg.
Date published: 2015-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wylex 32amp MCB Easy and quick fit MCB for older style Consumer Unit replacing old wired fuses.
Date published: 2015-05-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Replacement MCBs I wished to replace existing fuses in old consumer unit with circuit breakers. Just replace fuse base plate with new plate using one screw and plug in new MCB. Very simple and easy.
Date published: 2015-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WYLEX 32A SP Type B Curve MCB NWYLEX 32A SP Type B Curve MCB is a great little unit that makes you feel confident and safe, instant trip so no looking for fuse wire in the dark. I recommend.
Date published: 2014-12-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy retro fit MCB Low cost easy retro fit MCB for older style Consumer Unit. Remember that the fuse cover will not fit once these have been replaced due to the increased size of the MCB compared to the rewireable fuse carrier.
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wylex MCB Replacement for the fuses in my old consumer unit. Easy to fit and no more hunting for fuse wire when one blows.
Date published: 2014-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mcb easy replacement cheaper alternative to new consumer unit
Date published: 2014-10-24
  • y_2020, m_8, d_5, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_GB, sid_87979, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 144ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Are these easy to fit to replace old fuse wire type?

Asked by: Kaiser55
I am a DIYer so if your in any doubt get a qualified electrician. if your confident you must shut the main power supply off first and then test that there is no power going to the fuses. Pull out the old fuse. Unscrew the old backing plate and replace with the new backing plate simply screw in place of the original one. Once secured fit new fuse. reset the main fuse board and you will now have an easy to reset fuse. The neighbour who is 80yrs old didn't want the fuss of a new style consumer unit...in the long run it would be cheaper.
Answered by: Ronniefish1
Date published: 2019-04-13

is this fit for use with a shower ?or does it have to be a 30mA MCB ?

Asked by: dragonstripes
This is a Miniature Curcuit Breaker (MCB), which protects against excess current but not against any danger of electric shock. A shower needs also to be protected by a Residual Current Device - specifically, a 30mA RCD or using a RCBO (which is a MCB and RCD in the one small unit - not avalable to fit in these old Wylex fuseboxes, though)
Answered by: HRon
Date published: 2020-02-17
  • y_2020, m_8, d_5, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_en_GB, sid_87979, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 158ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: BV SEO Content for this product did not include verbose reviews.;
Specification
Amp Rating 32 A
Brand Wylex
Breaking Capacity 6 kA
CSU Device MCBs
Curve Type Type B
Incomer Fitting Type Plug-In
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Model No B32
No. of Phases Single-Phase
Number of Poles Single Pole
Pack Size 1
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Power Voltage Supply 230 V
Product Type Plug-In MCB