Bosch Truvo Digital Wall Detector (1375R)

Compact, easy to use detector for safe and reliable drilling in walls. Detects ferrous metal (e.g. steel), non-ferrous metal (e.g. copper) and live wires. LED 'traffic light' system indicates where drilling is possible. Green light where it is safe to drill, amber light for caution (drilling not recommended) and red light shows where not to drill.

  • Automatic Calibration
  • Easy On/Off Switch Operation
  • Acoustic & LED Light Signals

More Info

View all: Bosch Digital Detectors

£39.99INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Bosch Truvo Digital Wall Detector is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 52.
  • y_2018, m_6, d_18, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_GB, sid_1375R, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Digital wall detector Good value for money saves you from drilling into unseen pipes and power cables.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple but effective Recently bought to aid in ensuring I don't drill / nail through and pipes or wiring in my home. You simply switch it on place on the wall surface you want to check and move it around. Audible a simple traffic light system identifies where any metallic inc live wires lie under the surface. Keeping the device on the surface improves the accuracy even further so that you can be confident you are not going to hit something you might regret. A bit expensive but a small price to pay to minimise the likelihood of causing an expensive repair if you do hit something.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY EASY TO USE After drilling 1/2 dozen holes i decided to get one of these, straight away done the job, should have bought in the first place, would have saved the filling and sanding now.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job Bought this to replace an old sensor that went off all the time. Found this to be very accurate especially if you place one hand on the wall when sensing.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Easy to use Very easy to use straight from box. Know where not to drill now.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pipe, cable and metal finder Easy set up straight from box. There are a huge amount of instructions in so many different languages - just had to search for those in English. The instructions relate to the diagram but you have to find the diagram first! Once found it is not easy to flick back and forth between the text and the pictures - suggestion: photocopy the diagram and put it with the instructions in your language. The item is easy to use and the signals give a clear indication of your approach to an item and then a strong beep when you are on top of it. Different flashing light for live electric cables - very useful. Also picks up tacks/ small nails very easily with a very short beep and red flash of the warning light. Used it to detect wall fixings under plaster around a fire surround and it did OK. Also played around with it to see if it could find pipes/ cables that I knew and it found them all.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tool. Easy to use. Takes the stress out of drilling holes in walls.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful product Even when use to manufacturer specs, this device is completely inaccurate. As another user has stated, it's likely to tell you that a wooden door has live wires running through, it gives me different responses for the exact same location, even changing dependant on how many fingers I hold the device with. I can't even put this down to a one off bad product, this is the second one I've had and it's done the exact same thing.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Excellent and easy to use. Accurate and great value.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Works straight out of the box. Accurate and simple to use .
Date published: 2018-01-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bosch detector Very good does the job would buy this again hope this help someone else thinking of buying one
Date published: 2018-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Joist finder lath plaster My son had drilled holes over his ceiling and could not find the joists. Solution: lathes are nailed to joists so need to detect metal = use this Bosch detector. Joists identified accurately and very quickly so the Pulley Drier is now very secure and everyone is happy. Additionally he likes the identification of electrical fields as he intends drilling into walls for shelves etc and the Bosch detector has made him aware of hidden dangers. A great bit of kit at a very reasonable price.
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reasonably priced, works well Reasonably priced, reliable and tough. Detects wires pipes and metal. Takes the guess work out of drilling walls. Essential piece of kit for the diy-er.
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool Works as it should, didn't expect to be so accurate as well, great but especially for the money, 5*
Date published: 2017-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bosch Truvo Bought this to ensure there were no cables or pipes in the studded walls on the new extension before drilling, which it did perfectly. A bonus is that the Bosch Truvo can detect the plasterboard screws which guarantees finding the studs when hanging pictures etc. I would recommend this product, great value for money.
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bosch BOSCH TRUVO DIGITAL W Great product...not cheap but does the job.Lets you drill with confidence.
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Excellent I do not write many reviews but was surprised by those who gave this product such a low rating so wanted to balance it out. I had a cheap Draper that failed me so bought this today. I was trying to locate a cooker cable behind a 20mm travertine splashback on 12mm dry lining and buried 10mm in the actual wall. I was able to confidently locate the cooker cable to a depth of circa 45mm to an accuracy of around 2cm which given it is a 10mm twin and earth is pretty accurate. I tested it on other areas where I know the cables are and it was equally accurate. It only detected the live electric element (i.e. Flashing red) to a depth of around 25mm but it still detected metal behind, which was the cable. I have looked around for a decent detector for a while and read many reviews for this and more expensive versions. This works well. The set up instructions are quite simple and clear and I followed them to the word. I made sure everything was clean and dry and it worked a treat.
Date published: 2017-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pipe detector. Just bought and tried this. Did the job and picked up all hidden pipes and live wires no problems at all. Even detected a nail in the other side of the wall which was holding up a picture frame. Must have been 600 mm away. Would definitely recommend as there is no calibration required (self calibrates). Very accurate machine . Great service from Screwfix as usual.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good piece of kit Quite basic but does the job well, inexpensive. Well done.
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Works exactly as advertised and seems very accurate
Date published: 2017-11-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Takes guessing out Just purchased a house as a first time buyer so unaware of electrical layout of house. It definitely helps with giving me a ruff layout of where the live cables are.
Date published: 2017-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from A bit sensitive I've not used many scanners, but this one seems very sensitive. I checked our new ceiling as i needed to fit a smoke alarm and it went off almost everywhere and i know that its not spidered with cables. However, i would rather it was over cautious than let me drill through something
Date published: 2017-10-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very good product it is a very good product. I've tested it on most of the walls and easily detects all cables/pipes in walls. It is really helpful tool which makes drillign so much safer! I would definitely recommend it.
Date published: 2017-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great detector This is my second detector, and it is working! The first one (was made in US) was beeping everywhere. This one only turns red at the right spots, so I am very thankful for this little tool. I can now drill holes, and hang pictures.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job well I find these reviewers a little expensive for what they are. They don't feel that premium for the cost and ideally i'd like a stronger battery cover. I'm not a clumsy chap and i dropped it once while checking the wall and all the batteries came out. A stronger clip or scew would help. If you're less clumsy than me i'd recommend it though. Found everthing i wanted it to.
Date published: 2017-09-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good AC Wire Dectector Used this to detect AC wires in wall before drilling wall to mount radiator. Was disappointed at first as it seemed to bleep and flash all over the wall. Need to make sure you are properly grounded. Found that keeping free hand on the wall close to the detector gave correct results. Tested on known wire runs first. Just need to practise a little first. Gave enough confidence to proceed with drilling.
Date published: 2017-09-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scanner This works well and picked up cables and pipework behind plaster board.
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good piece of kit I don't know why this item got negative reviews. It worked perfectly for me straight away it found a gas pipe to its exact width and other water pipes no problem
Date published: 2017-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Feels a bit cheap but worth it I was sceptical about the unit at first as having tired them in the past they didn't seem to work too well. After unpacking the unit it does feel very cheap but given its due, it does the job well. It doesn't locate studs as such but rather the metal work (nails, screws etc) used to attach plasterboard to them. After a few minutes playing with it and getting used it's an easy to use unit and within a few minutes had marked out and cut five holes for back boxes in the plasterboard walls without issue. Not quite sure why it costs as much as it does though.
Date published: 2017-09-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Truvo Digital Not overly impressed, there is no way too turn down the detectors sensitivity and it seems way to sensitive. Device shows red and beeps for 1 m either side of where i suspect the cable to my light switch would be. Using my mates (cheaper silverline scanner) we can reduce the sensitivity and track the cable to a 1 inch line down my wall. This Bosch scanner basically tells me i can't drill anywhere.
Date published: 2017-09-05
  • y_2018, m_6, d_18, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_GB, sid_1375R, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix

what can i use this for

Hi I have recently removed all the plaster from my kitchen walls ready for replastering can you recommend a detector that will pinpoint all potential hazards such as electrics and gas supply cables.thank you
Asked by: b00merang
Hi b00merang, all Bosch detectors including the Truvo are capable of finding live electrical cables and gas pipes. The most accurate being the Bosch D-Tect range.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2018-06-03

Does it detect plastic water pipe?

Asked by: Cbprop
Hi Cbprop, this product can detect ferrous metal up to 70 mm, non ferrous up to 60 mm and live wires up to 50 mm, it cannot detect non metallic material like plastic piping. However the Bosch; D-tect 150 SV (7530K), D-tect 150 (20429) and D-tect 120 (8224K) can detect plastic piping.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2018-02-15

Will this work on concrete walls ?

Asked by: commsraider
Hi commsraider. Yes the Truvo will work through concrete walls.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2017-12-11

Does this detect wood? I'm drilling into a stud wall and want to find the timber areas to fix to.

Asked by: Suzel
Hi Suzel. The Truvo will detect steel, copper, and live wires but will not detect wood, for that you need our PMD 10.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2018-01-11

Does this work through porcelein and ceramic tiles?

Asked by: rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Hi rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. Yes, the Truvo will detect steel up to 70mm deep, copper up to 60mm deep and live wires/cables up to 50mm deep through all household building materials.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2017-11-09

What battery does this detector require ?

Asked by: Nobby9000
Hi Nobby9000. The Truvo takes 3 x AAA batteries.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2017-10-19

Does it work on floors?

Asked by: Anonymous
Hi there. In theory, yes. It really depends on what you are hoping to detect. The Truvo will detect ferrous metals up to 70mm and non ferrous metals up to 60mm, whether it is being used to detect through a floor or a wall. However this tool will not detect wood, or plastic pipes.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2017-11-14

How accurate is it with plyboard?

Will the stud finder work through plasterboard and min 12mm plyboard?
Asked by: Snavenose
Hi Snavenose. The Truvo will work up to 70mm in depth through ply and pasterboard - as long as the material is not foil backed.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2017-05-13
  • y_2018, m_6, d_18, h_5CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_13
  • loc_en_GB, sid_1375R, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
Specification
Brand Bosch
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Model No Truvo
Pack Size 1
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Product Depth 28 mm
Product Height 144 mm
Product Length 60 mm
Product Type Digital Wall Detector
Total Product Weight 150 g

Max. detection depth: ferrous metal up to 70 mm, non-ferrous metal up to 60 mm, live wires up to 50 mm. Includes 3 x 1.5V AAA batteries.