Bosch Truvo Digital Wall Detector (1375R)

£42.99INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Bosch Truvo Digital Wall Detector (1375R)

Compact, easy to use detector for safe and reliable drilling in walls. Detects ferrous metal (e.g. steel), non-ferrous metal (e.g. copper) and live wires. LED 'traffic light' system indicates where drilling is possible. Green light where it is safe to drill, amber light for caution (drilling not recommended) and red light shows where not to drill.

  • Automatic Calibration
  • Easy On/Off Switch Operation
  • Acoustic & LED Light Signals

More Info

View all: Bosch Digital Detectors

£42.99INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Bosch Truvo Digital Wall Detector is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 73.
  • y_2019, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_73
  • loc_en_GB, sid_1375R, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 12ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job Used many times and helps pick up metal present - not discriminatory though and therefore can be a pain when needing specifics tested. Only gives metal present - not what type
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic piece of kit Works extremely well. Detects metallic objects and live wires hidden behind plaster etc.great safety tool
Date published: 2018-12-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed I'm a big Bosch fan , I have an extensive range of there tools. Expected the same reliable quality but this came up short. The detector was advising that there were live cables everywhere. It even found cables in a stud wall (only boarded on one side) that had no pipe or cables in it. Tried for an hour but this drove me mad back in the box ,returned next day
Date published: 2018-11-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Forcefield detector. Pointless piece of kit due to lack of sensitivity controls, apparently I live in a house surrounded by an invisible forcefield barrier, no where near being consistent enough to be classed as a reliable tool.
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Truvo detector Good bit of kit, although took a couple of attempts to put batteries in correct way round !, reliable indicator.
Date published: 2018-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Won’t leave home without it! Bought this to replace old detector which seemed to be giving defective readings. This was simple to use ‘out of the box ‘ and gave accurate and reliable results when tested on known wires etc at home. Invaluable when working in a clients property. Will pay for itself in no time but was even better value as Screwfix kindly sent me a voucher for £10 off
Date published: 2018-10-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Utterly useless and unreliable, took it back within the hour. Apparently the architrave around my door has live wires in it and the live wires near switches disappear if I stand a bit closer to the detector or alter my grip on the detector.
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great piece of kit This finds copper pipes in wall and floors even under wooden and screed on top. Finds live cables and dead, different sound. It’s brilliant !
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have in your tool box. Thank goodness for this little beauty. I should have purchased this way before now, but it was down to the worry of old walls and plaster that I really needed to make sure I wasn't drilling into the mains. So easy to use and perfectly detects wires, pipes and studs. A must have, especially for those with old houses that keep hidden secrets!
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bosch digital wall detector Great bit of kit if like Me are no expert at diy and need to be sure whee the pipes and electric cables are behind walls.
Date published: 2018-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool, very useful Bought as I'm currently renovating a property and was unsure of the exact location of buried services when drilling walls etc. Very useful so far, keeping me clear of suspect areas! Unable to differentiate between live or redundant services though as there are lots of old cabling, conduit and pipework. Great tool in that the pitch of the tone goes up and down along with the indicator changing between red/amber/green. No strikes - so far! Hopefully it will continue! Worth the cash 'just in case', cheaper and preferential than rectifying cable strike or pipe leak!
Date published: 2018-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BOSCH TRUVO Wow! Cheap and very reliable. Read all reviews and decided to purchase this as putting up shelves, brackets in a new build. And did not let me down, great tool and cheap aswell, brilliant.
Date published: 2018-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Utterly useless Been playing around with this for three weeks. Despite recalibration, it detects conductors when held at arm's length (not wearing a watch) in the middle of a room. It's going back.
Date published: 2018-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best I've used I've used a few of these in the past made by others but this one is easily the best. You'd have to be pretty daft to hit a cable after using this little baby !
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent tool Great tool. Inexpensive, accurate and easy to use.
Date published: 2018-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic tool. Great device for accurately locating pipes and cables. When my ancient pipe detector alarmed as soon as it was switched on, I thought it was time to get a new one. Well this handy, easy to use, little device certainly fitted the use for which I bought it. Found the cable that I knew was there and the pipe that I thought was there. No expensive plumbers bills. Highly reccomended.
Date published: 2018-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy Tool For DIYers and Trad Bought this detector having seen a colleague make an expensive mistake by not using a detector. Used it for the 1st time today. Reasonably accurate and easy to use. Would definitely recommend buying even if you don't use that often. Great Price.
Date published: 2018-06-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Detector Detected Reasonable value and it helped guide a difficult attachment of a TV bracket. It’s not clear about lateral sensitivity. This makes it difficult to know if it’s detecting something immediately underneath or close by.
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job well The ratings on this speak for themselves. Worked very well found stuff I knew was there. A little expensive but far better than some of the cheaper stuff.
Date published: 2018-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bosch metal/wiring detector Bought to replace a detector I've had 26 years and has just given up the ghost. This unit is so much better. Found it to be accurate and have not experienced false positives as stated in some reviews.
Date published: 2018-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good buy Needed to fix heavy plate glass mirror to lath & plaster wall. Had tried my el cheapo wall detector but its bleeps and flashes made no sense, so pushed the boat out and bought the Bosch. Read manual carefully first (necessary), but then it found the lath nail heads in minutes with no difficulty - mirror screwed securely in no time - excellent result. Anyone want an el cheapo wall detector?? Free to a good home.....
Date published: 2018-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Digital wall detector Good value for money saves you from drilling into unseen pipes and power cables.
Date published: 2018-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple but effective Recently bought to aid in ensuring I don't drill / nail through and pipes or wiring in my home. You simply switch it on place on the wall surface you want to check and move it around. Audible a simple traffic light system identifies where any metallic inc live wires lie under the surface. Keeping the device on the surface improves the accuracy even further so that you can be confident you are not going to hit something you might regret. A bit expensive but a small price to pay to minimise the likelihood of causing an expensive repair if you do hit something.
Date published: 2018-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY EASY TO USE After drilling 1/2 dozen holes i decided to get one of these, straight away done the job, should have bought in the first place, would have saved the filling and sanding now.
Date published: 2018-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job Bought this to replace an old sensor that went off all the time. Found this to be very accurate especially if you place one hand on the wall when sensing.
Date published: 2018-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Easy to use Very easy to use straight from box. Know where not to drill now.
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pipe, cable and metal finder Easy set up straight from box. There are a huge amount of instructions in so many different languages - just had to search for those in English. The instructions relate to the diagram but you have to find the diagram first! Once found it is not easy to flick back and forth between the text and the pictures - suggestion: photocopy the diagram and put it with the instructions in your language. The item is easy to use and the signals give a clear indication of your approach to an item and then a strong beep when you are on top of it. Different flashing light for live electric cables - very useful. Also picks up tacks/ small nails very easily with a very short beep and red flash of the warning light. Used it to detect wall fixings under plaster around a fire surround and it did OK. Also played around with it to see if it could find pipes/ cables that I knew and it found them all.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tool. Easy to use. Takes the stress out of drilling holes in walls.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful product Even when use to manufacturer specs, this device is completely inaccurate. As another user has stated, it's likely to tell you that a wooden door has live wires running through, it gives me different responses for the exact same location, even changing dependant on how many fingers I hold the device with. I can't even put this down to a one off bad product, this is the second one I've had and it's done the exact same thing.
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Excellent and easy to use. Accurate and great value.
Date published: 2018-01-11
  • y_2019, m_1, d_15, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_73
  • loc_en_GB, sid_1375R, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 115ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

What is the 'sideways' resolution for live wires behind bathroom tiling?

I am putting up a shelf below a mirror and know that I have a live cable since I have a shaver point nearby. If I knew where the cable ran to within +/-20 mm or so that would be great.
Asked by: Baldcoot
Hi Baldcoot, When passed over in 3 sweeps and wall has been ground by placing your hand above the area where you are detecting, the Truvo is able to accurately detect live wire behind wall tiles.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2019-01-09

Will this detect foil tape behind plastic pipes?

The heating pipes in my house are plastic, but the building manual states that a foil tape has been fitted behind all plastic pipes - will this detect the foil tape to aid location?
Asked by: andyslowrider
Hi andyslowrider, the Truvo is capable of detecting metallic foil but not plastic or water filled plastic pipes.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2018-03-17

Will the Bosch Truvo detect low voltage cables such as chasing an alarm cable?

Asked by: GaryMike
Hi GaryMike, The Truvo is capable of detecting metal cable but does not give a read out on if the cable is live or not. For an indication of live wires we recommend the universal D-tect, that has different settings for live wires or metal cables and pipes.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2018-03-11

what can i use this for

Hi I have recently removed all the plaster from my kitchen walls ready for replastering can you recommend a detector that will pinpoint all potential hazards such as electrics and gas supply cables.thank you
Asked by: b00merang
Hi b00merang, all Bosch detectors including the Truvo are capable of finding live electrical cables and gas pipes. The most accurate being the Bosch D-Tect range.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2018-06-03

Does it detect plastic water pipe?

Asked by: Cbprop
Hi Cbprop, this product can detect ferrous metal up to 70 mm, non ferrous up to 60 mm and live wires up to 50 mm, it cannot detect non metallic material like plastic piping. However the Bosch; D-tect 150 SV (7530K), D-tect 150 (20429) and D-tect 120 (8224K) can detect plastic piping.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2018-02-15

Will this work on concrete walls ?

Asked by: commsraider
Hi commsraider. Yes the Truvo will work through concrete walls.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2018-09-23

Does this detect wood? I'm drilling into a stud wall and want to find the timber areas to fix to.

Asked by: Suzel
Hi Suzel. The Truvo will detect steel, copper, and live wires but will not detect wood, for that you need our PMD 10.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2019-01-03

Does this work through porcelein and ceramic tiles?

Asked by: rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
Hi rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr. Yes, the Truvo will detect steel up to 70mm deep, copper up to 60mm deep and live wires/cables up to 50mm deep through all household building materials.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2017-11-09

What battery does this detector require ?

Asked by: Nobby9000
Hi Nobby9000. The Truvo takes 3 x AAA batteries.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2017-10-19

Does it work on floors?

Asked by: Anonymous
Hi there. In theory, yes. It really depends on what you are hoping to detect. The Truvo will detect ferrous metals up to 70mm and non ferrous metals up to 60mm, whether it is being used to detect through a floor or a wall. However this tool will not detect wood, or plastic pipes.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2017-11-14

How accurate is it with plyboard?

Will the stud finder work through plasterboard and min 12mm plyboard?
Asked by: Snavenose
Hi Snavenose. The Truvo will work up to 70mm in depth through ply and pasterboard - as long as the material is not foil backed.
Answered by: Bosch Product Expert
Date published: 2017-05-13
  • y_2019, m_1, d_15, h_17CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.9
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_16
  • loc_en_GB, sid_1375R, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 125ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: BV SEO Content for this product did not include verbose reviews.;
Specification
Brand Bosch
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Model No Truvo
Pack Size 1
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Product Depth 28 mm
Product Height 144 mm
Product Length 60 mm
Product Type Digital Wall Detector
Total Product Weight 150 g

Max. detection depth: ferrous metal up to 70 mm, non-ferrous metal up to 60 mm, live wires up to 50 mm. Includes 3 x 1.5V AAA batteries.