Save Time, Please use Click & Collect

Roughneck Kindling Splitter 2½lb (1.1kg) (73836)

£ 23.99INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Not available for delivery

Roughneck Kindling Splitter 2½lb (1.1kg) (73836)

You must be 18 years old or over to buy this product.

Convex head for easier splitting and less jamming.

  • Drop-Forged Steel Head
  • Fibreglass Ergonomic Soft-Grip Handle
  • Canvas Sheath Supplied

More Info

View all: Roughneck Axes

£23.99INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Not available for delivery
Roughneck Kindling Splitter 2½lb (1.1kg) is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 29.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_5, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_GB, sid_73836, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 17ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fabulous kindling splitter The kindling almost fires away from the log or plank you are splitting from.... worried about fingers and thumbs now, not about whether I have enough kindling.
Date published: 2018-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kindling spilter Whilst more money they would you normally expect to pay for such a simple tool it's very solid and does the job with ease. With regularl sharpening it should last.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good kindling axe Perfect little axe for making kindling. I just get a log (already split) and split it into three or four smaller chunks and then split down into kindling. Have Chopped a months worth of kindling in 30mins!
Date published: 2017-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great axe Makes chopping kindling so easy. A little heavy, so you need to be aware. Wish I had bought one ages ago
Date published: 2017-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good little splitting axe This little axe was exactly what I was looking for to turn dry split logs into kindling as needed rather than buying bags of sticks as I did before. Works very well for this purpose much better than a standard axe head.
Date published: 2016-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kindling Axe Bought this as fed up with damaging fingers splitting wood. Should have bought it long time ago, sounds a little OTT but, it is a pleasure to use. Splits even thinnest pieces with pleasing "ping" noise. Highly recommended
Date published: 2016-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my yellow chopper works well, critically, splits word due to the curved blade.
Date published: 2016-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A cut above the rest! Is weighted perfectly so does the job it's designed for & at a good price.
Date published: 2016-02-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for splitting kindling Does the job well of splitting kindling well and as the description and name says, it is NOT an axe. It is not sharp and is not meant to be sharp. For kindling, I generally saw up old pallets into kindling lengths with a hand tree saw and then split the short lengths of timber with the Kindling Splitter which does not jam. Result = easy free kindling for lighting the open log fire. Just the job!
Date published: 2016-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and effective Splitter A well made and effective kindling splitter. This product is built to last. The excellent cutting surface, due to its shape, doesn't jam in the logs and the head is perfectly weighted. A great product
Date published: 2015-12-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy Handled Splitter Used this for an hour whilst chopping firewood.No sore hands due to the super well designed handle. Worth paying a little more for than the standard axe. Did the job well.
Date published: 2015-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kindling axe Needed a kindling axe for obvious reasons. After searching around I found this one via screwfix. My only gripe is that it was blunt on purchase so needed sharpening but with that said it's very comfortable to hold and use.
Date published: 2014-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little axe Very solid kindling axe that does what it says on the tin. Went from a big round of wood to kindling in no time, couple with the wood grenade and up you will have no trouble turning most wood into chips !
Date published: 2014-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy splitting Have used it a few times since purchase. Heavy and solid item. Splits kindling very easily. Recommended.
Date published: 2014-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent tool for the job Although it is slightly counterintuitive, this kindling maker works brilliantly despite the blunt striking edge. The weight of the head and rounded leading edge mean that a firm strike (using the weight rather than excessive speed) will split off kindling from a small log with ease. I have used it to halve small logs (of 4 to 6 inch diameter) and produce kindling for my log burner. Much more effective than my hatchet for this job.
Date published: 2014-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roughneck Kindling Splitter Excellent Product, no its not sharp like an Axe so don't rush off to the grindstone with it! It does make kindling wood easier by using the dead weight behind the motion. Takes a few mins to find out how to use it best then your off. Only thing is after 2 weeks in the woodshed the head has started to rust, maybe a wipe down with an oily rag will help.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Slow to use, unbalanced Don't understand why they made this. I use a well-balanced little hand axe and cut a month's kindling in no time, chop chop, maybe a second per cut, no effort. This thing is unbalanced, all the weight at the top end. It takes about 3 times as long to cut the same pile and you find you're holding it halfway up the handle. Can't imagine using it again, unless someone pinches my axe. May be best for killing chickens like the other reviewer said.
Date published: 2013-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just the job I found this almost didn't work on seasoned hardwood but when it came to softwood, particularly if cut into short lengths, a good sharp whacks splits off a piece of kindling very neatly and effectively. It's a good weight and nice length so you can really let the tool do the work.
Date published: 2012-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works a treat Most of my kindling is made up of old floor boards that I have cut to kindling length. The axe is great for splitting each piece into kindling sticks. Can't understand the other reviews saying they needed to re-grind the edge. I find it works fine and you can get in to a nice rhythm with each stick pinging off round the garage with one firm blow. The only time it bounces off is when you have a knotty bit near the end. Its pretty heavy so is a good workout for the wrist. A vast improvement on the hammer/chisel I used to use.
Date published: 2012-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from kindling axe well designed well balanced less effort needed than traditional hand axe
Date published: 2011-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from tool for the job strong,sturdy, well constructed. does the job well. special design works a treat.
Date published: 2010-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from log chopper? must agree with other review had to change the angle on the cutting edge ,now it cut a good un
Date published: 2009-11-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bounces off Must agree with Spokey - even after sharpening to a razor edge I find it just bounces off most of the time.
Date published: 2009-11-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Chopper! A good basic if a little cumbersome kindling splitter. Does what it says on the tin....
Date published: 2008-10-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from log splitter the axe was a very poor kindling splitter, it was too much like a log splitter and would often bounce back out of the wood without splitting it. The angle of the blade is too big.
Date published: 2008-09-11
  • y_2020, m_8, d_5, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_29
  • loc_en_GB, sid_73836, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 121ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 100ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: The resource to the URL or file is currently unavailable.;
Specification
Blade Width (Metric) 94 mm
Brand Roughneck
Colour Black - Yellow
Hammer & Axes Handle Type Fibreglass
Hammer & Axes Product Type Hand Axe
Head Weight (Band) 0-4lb
Head Weight (Imperial) 2½ lb
Head Weight (Metric) 1.1 kg
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Model No 65-663/SF
Overall Length 407 mm
Pack Size 1
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Product Length 310 mm
Product Type Kindling Splitter
Sharpened Blade Sharpened Blade
Total Product Weight 1378 kg