Prysmian 6242Y Grey 6mm² Twin & Earth Cable 10m Coil (29733)

£ 29.89INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Prysmian 6242Y Grey 6mm² Twin & Earth Cable 10m Coil (29733)

Grey sheath. Blue and brown core.

  • Grey PVC Sheathed Cable
  • Brown & Blue Cores with Bare Earth
  • 7 Strands Per Core
  • Easy-Strip Sheath
  • Manufactured in the UK

More Info

View all: Prysmian Cable

£29.89INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to handle twin and earth If it comes to strippability this is the best product on the market. I never had cores sticking to the sheath or difficulties in stripping the sheath. you pay probably a little bit more against competitors from Asia but you gain because of handleability. Great product, made in the south of Wales.
Date published: 2022-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good sturdy cable Exactly as described and exactly what I needed, good choice of lengths available
Date published: 2022-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Cooker Had a new Cooker needed 6 mm cable went to get it, had what I wanted pleased with service and very happy on price
Date published: 2022-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well done Screwfix It's nice to be able to buy as little as 10m of this cable at a very good price. It is available at other outlets in 10m but at a much higher price. "Well done Screwfix". DIY'r's need more of these offers specially in these times of not overusing the Planets resources.
Date published: 2021-11-28
  • y_2022, m_9, d_24, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_55
  • loc_en_GB, sid_29733, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

What is the weight?

What's the weight of this 10metre length of 6mm twin and earth please?
Asked by: Xarlie
Thank you for contacting Prysmian Group UK Technical Support. The approximate weight of this product (including packaging) is 2.1kg.
Answered by: Nikki - Prysmian
Date published: 2022-08-02

Is this suitable for an induction hob?

I have an induction hob. Specs are: 7.35kW 220V-240V The cable will need to wire into a wall plate and the cable will wire straight to the hob will not set into the wall or anything. Thanks
Asked by: DIYDaveII
Thank you for contacting Prysmian Group UK Technical Support. In this instance, we would advise consulting a qualified electrician who will be able to advise on the correct cable size - there may also be details within the hob documentation which clarifies the correct cable to use.
Answered by: Nikki - Prysmian
Date published: 2022-08-20

Description states "7 Strands Per Core" but surely this is 6mm solid?

Asked by: DeeAyeWhy
Hi, All of our Twin & Earth cables above 2.5mm have stranded conductors.
Answered by: Nikki - Prysmian
Date published: 2022-01-08

What amps is this cable rated at?

Asked by: Qqqqqqq
Hi, The current rating will depend on the method of installation - we would recommend consulting the relevant table within the wiring regulations. Alternatively, we do have a cable sizing app available at cableapp.com which may also be of use.
Answered by: Nikki - Prysmian
Date published: 2022-08-07

I need to extend a double plug socket cable by 1-2m, will it be safe to use this 6mm cable for that as i have some left over ?

Asked by: ajs89
HI, we would advise you consult with a qualified electrician for guidance in this area. Guidance in Appendix 15 of BS7671, advises a 2.5mm² for socket extensions. We don't believe a 6mm² should be used for your application, but you should seek professional advice.
Answered by: Nikki - Prysmian
Date published: 2021-07-11
  • y_2022, m_9, d_25, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_10
  • loc_en_GB, sid_29733, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: BV SEO Content for this product did not include verbose reviews.;
Specification
Brand Prysmian
Cable Code 6242Y
Cable End Type Bare
Cable Length 10 m
Cable Product Type Twin & Earth
Cable Profile Flat
Cable Voltage Rating 300/500 V
Coil or Drum Coil
Conductor Area 6 mm²
External Diameter 13.1 mm
Indoor/Outdoor Usage Indoor
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Maximum Operating Temperature 70 °C
Minimum Operating Temperature -15 °C
Model No 20147221
No. of Cable Cores 2-Core
No. of Strands Per Core 7 Strands Per Core
Pack Size 1
Parent Colour Grey
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Product Type PVC Flat Wiring Cable
Sheath Colour Grey