No Nonsense Paint & Varnish Stripper 500ml (17091)

Extremely effective, non-methylene chloride paint stripper. Biodegradable, non-drip and non-flammable. The non-caustic formulation is simple and easy to use both indoors and out. Ideal for use by inexperienced DIYers as well as the professional user on wood, metal, stone or concrete.

More Info

Bulk Save Save up to 10%
Bulk savings
QTY Price per item Saving
1 £4.99 (£9.98/Ltr) -
2 + £4.49 (£8.98/Ltr) Save 10%
£4.99INC VAT (£9.98/Ltr)

Add to basket for...

Not available for delivery
No Nonsense Paint & Varnish Stripper 500ml is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 263.
  • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_263
  • loc_en_GB, sid_17091, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rubish Possibly the worst paint stripper I've ever used. Unless I had a dud bottle it doesn't strip paint total waist of money and time.
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional Bought a few bottles of this product to remove at least 50 plus years of paint and even varnish from our internal doors and got it due to trade recommendations and reviews on here - absolutely fantastic product and exceptional performance especially given the low competitive price a little goes a long way leave for 24/48 hours and see the paint lit off with ease using a scraper job done MJ :-)
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Nonsense paint remover Cheaper alternative to another well known brand & works so much better. Removed a good few layers of old paint from a door after second application. Glad I purchased this brand!
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job. Very good. Does the job although needs a couple of coats for layers of paint. No complaints,
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Stripped all the old Mahogany vanish off the stairs banister, spindles and surrounds. Great product at a very great price. once all was off and sanded stairs look like new ready for priming and painting.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from didn't work for me Bought on strength of positive reviews. Followed instructions to the letter but just made appalling mess and hardly removed any varnish
Date published: 2017-11-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from High Hopes Dashed Had very high hopes after reading all the reviews and knowing how good other no nonsense products are, but unfortunately this stuff was completely useless. Top coat bubbled up a bit thats about as effective as it got. Followed the instructions to the letter. Very disappointed. Got to go the drastic route and replace the door frames instead.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from better then premium brands used this on solid wood doors at new house to get couple layers of gloss off. brushed on thick and left over night used shave hook to pull of paint to bare wood. had to put bit more on stubborn bits but was rely good
Date published: 2017-11-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for Auto Paints Bought this today after reading reviews on web and after wasting my money on Nitromors. Unfortunately it may be a good household stripper but it won't touch automotive paint I feel like I've just added another layer to remove. It may be a fantastic product for removing standard types of paint but it won't touch 2 pack.
Date published: 2017-11-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked on old floor varnish Took some carpets up to find some dark old varnish that’s obviously been down years. This NN stripper has worked well to lift enough off to stop the sanding belts getting clogged, which was happening. Smelly and messy, but quicker than a heat gun. Can’t say how it works on paint, but it’s been a great help on an old varnished floor.
Date published: 2017-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Having knocked down an old greenhouse attached to the house we found the brickwork painted white. Read the reviews for this product which were good and bought a bottle to try. The product is excellent, removing all the paint. Yes, you have to scrub and rinse but we are very pleased with the result and have bought some more
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value I have been using this and nitromoors to compare performance. No nonsense works but is not as quick as nitromoors. The end result was the same but no nonsense takes one hour soaking where as nitromoors only takes 15 mins. No nonsense is great value for money and I will buy again
Date published: 2017-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the job well !! This product is a fraction of the well known brand and does the job just as good and with a no fuss no mess result. I would completely highly recommend this product 100%
Date published: 2017-10-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Item Worked well on removing paint residue after using heat gun to remove the first 6 layers of old paint!!
Date published: 2017-10-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does what it says Have tried several paint strippers and have been disappointed compared with the harmful ones available years ago. I decided to try this one and following the instructions it works like a dream. It removed several layers of paint right down to the wood for considerably less money than other strippers. It is a bit smelly and you need ventilation for a few hours but overall very impressed and will continue using this one in the future.
Date published: 2017-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paint stripping made easy After reading a couple reviews on a bunch of different paint strippers decided to get this one and definitely didn't get disappointed. Used it to strip before re enameling a cast iron bath and it worked just fine. Applied the stripper left to react and then just had to lightly sand the surface. Really powerful stuff be aware to proper ventilate the room and definitely use protective gear including a mask!
Date published: 2017-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good stripper. Works well. Handy smaller size then some competition. Used it on an old chair no problem.
Date published: 2017-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No frills paint stripper After reading the reviews I thought I’d give it a try, an I certainly wasn’t disappointed, after only a few minutes the paint starts peeling away & bubbling, would certainly recommend to anybody, might be a £ or so more than a few competitors own brand stuff but far out performs them by far so makes much more financial sense.
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paint stripper Worked exactly as directions only had too add third covering on parts I had missed
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Whole floors stripped Very impressed with these little bottles. Had to large floors with 3 coats of very old paint. 2 coats of this stripper was enough to make it easy to scrape off. I left for longer than the 1 hour on the bottle - but all seemed fine. It smells a little - but nothing nasty like the other brands. Could Only be improved if it was sold in bigger bottles - I needed 5 to complete my floors!
Date published: 2017-10-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good product but messy work I used this to remove old paint. I had to use multiple times to remove 3-4 coats of old paint but could not succeed to remove all the paint.It is a messy job and if nit careful,surrounding painted areas will be affected.
Date published: 2017-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really good paint stripper I needed a paint stripper that would effectively 'clean' some very delicate items with no need for abrasives, was non corrosive, could be used indoors and gave off no fumes. This product ticked all boxes! Extra applications were needed in small hard to get at places, but it did the job without having to resort to 'mechanical' methods for cleaning out small holes, etc.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from value for money Bought after reading the reviews and found it value for money after two coats as directed over 20 years of paint removed found that if left a little longer than advised on 2nd coat took it right back and with a little sanding looked like new
Date published: 2017-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product After reading the reviews i took the plunge to buy it. This product is fantastic!!! I purchased this to strip the paint off my radiators so I could spray them freshly and it's worked wonders. It says needs 2 coats after the first coat the paint was bubbled I only needed to apply a 2nd coat for some missed areas! No need to waste money on nitromors or any other expensive product. The no nonsense brand along the full range is brilliant
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst ever I don't understand the other reviews unless I had a duff batch Bought 2 bottles and they didn't touch the paint at all useless
Date published: 2017-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Buyer beware Bought this and I wish that I had read the reviews for lowest to highest first. This stuff really doesn't work. Followed the instructions and not much happened. Would not use this product again.
Date published: 2017-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't work as well as expecte Used another brand before hand was given the rest of a tub. Shocked at how much the other brand cost and looked at the reviews and realised that this one had better reviews. Now, it was better than the other brand (slightly). However, still not as good as a heat gun and scraper. Will do the job if you follow the instructions and get some of the thicker paint off yourself first. Not brilliant for lots of layers of gloss in my opinion but good at getting the last bits off
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and safe to use I used this to strip several layers of varnish from a garage door. It was easy to apply and economical too. It needed two coats to strip away all the old material and worked out at about 2/3 of the price of Nitromors. One small drawback is the need to thoroughly wash the surface to remove residue after manually scraping off the old material. Very pleased with the job and will use again.
Date published: 2017-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from SPILT PAINT This product gets you out of trouble when spilling gloss paint on concrete.
Date published: 2017-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job Does the job... Used it to remove harder to reach areas on a bannister within minutes you could see it working. Really good price too compared to other brands.
Date published: 2017-08-20
  • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_263
  • loc_en_GB, sid_17091, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix

Can this remove paint from a ceramic shower tray

Asked by: Alfcon
Hello Afcon. That should be fine but we always recommend initially testing an inconspicuous area first. Hope that helps. Thank you for using Q&A. MH
Answered by: marchington
Date published: 2017-10-27

Can I use it to remove a build up of danish oil on my beech worktop.

Asked by: Peter196
Hello Peter196, As far as we are aware it might work, there is no information to say if it will work or not. The only thing we could say is try a test area to see if it works or not. Thank you for using Q&A, [BH].
Answered by: yeldarb
Date published: 2017-10-25

Can this remove solvent based acrylic sealer on Concrete

Asked by: creativehouzz
Hello creativehouzz, This Paint & Varnish stripper should be capable of breaking down solvent based sealers and can be used on concrete. We would always suggest testing in an inconspicuous area before applying to the whole surface. Thanks for using Q&A, KC
Answered by: KirstieC
Date published: 2017-10-23

Is this a liquid or a gel?

Asked by: CathGXX
The manufacturer has confirmed that this is a gel, it can be used on vertical surfaces. However it may run a little or 'curtain' if too much is applied at once. Hope that helps. Thank you for using Q&A. MH
Answered by: marchington
Date published: 2017-12-15

Will this remove bitumen paint on an external stone wall?

Asked by: J1403
Hello J1403,this might work on bitumen paint however we would recommend testing on a inconspicuous area first may require more than one application. thank you using Q and A.JB
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2017-10-05

will this remove masonry paint such as dulux weaTHERSHIELD FROM A BRICK WALL

O
Asked by: MIKEY123456789
Hello MIKEY123456789, This product is stated as being suitable for use on a stone wall so should be suitable for use on external masonry paint. Thank you for using Q & A. DC
Answered by: Dcoz
Date published: 2017-09-27

How long do you leave 2nd coat before scraping? Instructions say apply 2nd coat after one hour but no guidance for 2nd coat.

Asked by: Kevchenko
Leaving up to another 1 hour and checking every 15mins is a guide . It will be unlikely you will see any reaction like bubbling or smoking. Just check with a scraper at each period.
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2018-01-14

Will this remover work on a bike frame?

...
Asked by: Jaffa8430
Hello Jaffa8430, Every installation is different due to the varying circumstances of the site and environment. Therefore we advise that you contact a local tradesperson who will be able to view and assess your particular requirements. They will be able to provide further advice for the installation of the stripper. Thank you for using Q&A.
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2018-01-16

Would this work on a almenium garden table

Asked by: jrpj
Hello jrpj, This should be absolutely fine for use on the aluminium garden table, as always we advise you test it on an inconspicuous area to avoid any nasty surprises. Thank you for using Q&A, [BH].
Answered by: yeldarb
Date published: 2017-09-08

Removing paint from laminate flooring

I've just painted my skirtings and have a lot of paint marks on my laminate floor. Will this loft the paint spills without damaging the laminate?
Asked by: Anonymous
Would not recommend using on Laminate flooring .
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2017-11-27

Would this be any use for stripping stain on decking, have tried Ronseal Decking Stripper and it was useless

Asked by: Trace1
Hello As far as we are aware this product should be suitable for use on decking. thank you for using Q&A, [BH].
Answered by: yeldarb
Date published: 2017-08-11

Do you only need cold water to clean this off?

I've used a brush to apply it and a stainless steel scraper to remove it plus old paint.
Asked by: BernardE
Remove as much residue of No Nonsense Paint and Varnish Stripper and removed paint as possible. If the area is still very sticky and patches of paint are still there , it worth applying a further coat of the stripper. Once completed rinsing the treated area with water is correct.
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2017-10-26

Can this be used in a home garage floor to strip an existing epoxy paint on the surface?

Asked by: SMMM
The No Nonsense Paint & Varnish Stripper will work , If the following is followed and you are prepared to leave for up to 48 hours. 1.Remove any signs of grease or engine oil from the surface of the floor. 2. Coat generously with the stripper on the epoxy paint , one litre will cover 1 square meter 3. Cover with plastic sheeting and then leave. We would always recommend a test patch is performed first , for you to evaluate how affective it is ,effort required to scrap off and time taken. Based on this, will allow you to make an informed decision to perform the full job or not.
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2017-10-14

Will this remove old masonary paint?

Will this damage the stone work? Want to remove masonary paint.
Asked by: Kezzy
Hello Kezzy,This can be used on painted bricks. The instructions tell you what preparations are needed, how to apply it (dab it on not brush it on) and remove the paint. It may require more than one application to get all the paint off. 1 Litre will cover 1 square metre.” thank you for using Q and A.JB
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2017-09-23

Will this product strip polyurethane varnish from wood?

Asked by: Bobem
Good Afternoon Bobem The Nonsense Paint & Varnish Stripper will work on this type of varnish, but due to the nature of this varnish it will take time and effort to remove. Always worth performing a test patch first to evaluate how affective it is and to work out time and effort required. To save some time and effort once the remover is applied cover with cling film / plastic sheet and leave over night.
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2017-09-16

Is this suitable for stripping a factory finish powdercoat garage door which has been painted over with ordinary paint?

Asked by: H1947
Hi H1947, This product will be suitable to remove the paint from your garage door. Thank you for using Q&A. JBT
Answered by: JButt
Date published: 2017-08-01

Can this product be used on brick?

Asked by: JonnyBBad
Hi JonnyBBad, The supplier has advised that this can be used on painted bricks. The instructions tell you what preparations are needed, how to apply it (dab on not brush on) and remove the paint. It may require more than one application to get all the paint off. 1 Litre will cover 1 square metre.
Answered by: Pebo
Date published: 2017-09-16

Can I use this to strip old lead paint?

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Extra care and precautions should be taken when stripping lead paint and we would advise seeking guidance before undertaking a project of this nature, Thank you for using Q&A. MH
Answered by: marchington
Date published: 2017-08-23

will this remove emulsion from plasterboard

Asked by: waverly
Hello waverly, Yes, this product can be used for removing emulsion from plasterboard. We would recommend that you apply a small test area first and avoid letting the stripper soak into the plaster. Thanks for using Q&A, KC
Answered by: KirstieC
Date published: 2017-07-29

Will this product strip artex?

Asked by: ChipBored
Hello ChipBored, This product will not strip artex. Thank you for using Q&A. (LM).
Answered by: LMac
Date published: 2017-05-10

What is the coverage as I need to do 30m2 of grooved decking

Asked by: Mancunian45
Hello, Unfortunately we are unable to give you coverage information for this product as it will vary per situation and material. Thank you for using Q&A.
Answered by: WillFarrell
Date published: 2017-08-04

Will this product remove emulsion from concrete?

Asked by: Kef4
Hello Kef4, this should remove emulsion from concrete thank you for using Q and A.JB
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2017-09-02

Is this suitable to strip multiple layers of gloss paint from 1930's metal window frames?

Asked by: AF1960
Hello AF1960, This should be absolutely fine for use on the metal window frames, as always we advise you test it on an inconspicuous area to avoid any nasty surprises. Thank you for using Q and A, EC.
Answered by: Chubbtonk
Date published: 2018-01-11

is this any good on decking

Asked by: artya4
Hello Artya4, This product would be suitable for use on decking. Thank you for using Q&A.
Answered by: LMac
Date published: 2017-06-13

How thick is this product?

I need to strip the paint from wood framing around a porch. Is this product thick enough to not run off vertical and upside down surfaces?
Asked by: Jhanby
Hi Jhanby, The manufacturer has confirmed that this is a gel and can be used on vertical surfaces. However it may run a little or 'curtain' if too much is applied at once. Thanks for using Screwfix Q&A. JT
Answered by: JTremain
Date published: 2017-06-03

Will this remove paint from old enameled factory light shades without damaging the original finish? Thanks

Asked by: 0228
Hello 0228, Every usage is different due to the varying circumstances of the site and environment. Therefore we advise that you contact a local tradesperson who will be able to view and assess your particular requirements. They will be able to provide further advice for the usage of the Varnish. Thank you for using Q&A.
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2017-05-13

Is this stripper suitable for removing 1960's gloss paint from very delicate copper panels ?

I have some very delicately embossed thin copper panels. I need something that will lift the paint off with relative ease as i will not be able to use any abrasive tools to remove the paint. Ant suggestions please.
Asked by: djmickydoo
Hello djmickydoo, This will be suitable for removing this off of copper panels, we do advise that you use it on a small patch before doing the whole thing just to be safe. Thank you for using Q&A
Answered by: danking
Date published: 2017-05-05

Can ir be used on radiators

My bathroom radiator keeps turning yellow after painting using gloss and weatjersheild radiator paint 2 weeks ago and its turned yellow all ready. How do i stop this can i use the paint stripper tonremove old gloss and use radiator paint then
Asked by: Daver4256
Hi Dave I can't give a reason why your paint is turning yellow but as regards using Paint/Varnish stripper I see no reason why not - Just be aware that the paint will have "stoved" due to the heat and you may find it difficult to remove - Try to leave the stripper on as long as possible. Neil
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2017-07-13

Does this work on metal window frames ?

Asked by: Kitt75
Hello Kitt75. The paint and varnish remover can be used on: metal, Wood, stone and concrete. Thank you for using Q&A.
Answered by: yeldarb
Date published: 2017-01-23

Will it remove clear lacquer from an alloy casting as fitted to Japanese motorbikes?Will it work in cold weather?

Asked by: Kicker
Hello, I have spoken to the supplier and as we do not know all possible variables we cannot give usage advice along the lines you have request. However they did recommend using this item in an environment of 5c or higher. Thank you for using Q&A.
Answered by: WillFarrell
Date published: 2017-01-20
  • y_2018, m_1, d_19, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_77
  • loc_en_GB, sid_17091, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
Specification
Brand No Nonsense
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Pack Size 1
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Product Type Paint & Varnish Stripper
Volume 500 ml

Downloads

Safety Data Sheet (COSHH)