No Nonsense Paint & Varnish Stripper 500ml (17091)

Extremely effective, non-methylene chloride paint stripper. Biodegradable, non-drip and non-flammable. The non-caustic formulation is simple and easy to use both indoors and out. Ideal for use by inexperienced DIYers as well as the professional user on wood, metal, stone or concrete.

More Info

View all: No Nonsense Paint Stripper

Bulk Save Save up to 19%
Bulk savings
QTY Price per item Saving
1 £4.99 (£9.98/Ltr) -
2 + £4.00 (£8.00/Ltr) Save 19%
£4.99INC VAT (£9.98/Ltr)

Add to basket for...

Not available for delivery
No Nonsense Paint & Varnish Stripper 500ml is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 287.
  • y_2018, m_4, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_287
  • loc_en_GB, sid_17091, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my bacon! Having accidentally poured half a tin of paint over my bathroom tiles, I needed something quickly to save me retiling the affected area. This No Nonsense paint stripper had good reviews and at a great price so gave it a go. WOW. Followed the instructions and it worked a treat. Paint now completely gone with no damage at all to the ceramic tiles. Wife currently abroad so she will never know!!! Would thoroughly recommend this product. Remember - if using indoors, make sure the room is very well ventilated. Malcolm from Hertfordshire.
Date published: 2018-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work Okay I’m trying to remove old paint from stairs so far I’ve applied two coats left over night and the results have been useless it has worked in a few small areas the rest has just sat on top of the paint having no effect at all on the paint I followed instructions as well can’t give it any more stars as it has not worked
Date published: 2018-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff Excellent product. Stripped the paint better than more expensive strippers. Just follow the instructions and 'Hey Presto' - job done! Would recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2018-04-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed, ineffective I followed the instructions carefully (including using two applications) but apart from a few areas of wrinkled paint my garage door is hardly changed. V disappointed. I dont know whether Nitromores would have done a better job or whether it is a general issue due to not being able to have "nasty" chemicals in consumer products thesr days. Time to get the heat gun out....
Date published: 2018-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good for the price previously buying other brands for 3-4 times the price. At this low cost this paint stripper is great stuff. does exactly as you would expect
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Nonsense Paint Stripper I am No good at DIY, But I bought a Manifold Exhaust to Keep my 17 year old Yaris on the Road. But Somebody had Painted it. So I Bought This stuff Today and WOW It Really does Shift paint Not Toxic Easy to Use Solved my Problem Really Recomend it
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NO NONSENSE PAINT & VARNISH ST Had high expectations of this after reading good reviews but I was left very disappointed after buying 3 bottles of the stuff. This takes ages to do anything, what it does do is minimal apart from the mess that it makes, it makes LOTS of sticky horrible mess. Avoid - it's cheap for a reason, spend more and get a better brand
Date published: 2018-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No nonsense I read the reviews for this product as I had no luck with Nitromors but this stuff is rubbish. Put on one coat as per direction waited an hour put on another coat waited again still didn’t budge two coats of paint. It was an Ercol dining chair the spindle were shiny but this didn’t make a dent!
Date published: 2018-02-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is terrible This is not a paint stripper, it is a partially successful paint softener with caveats. I gave it a simple job, to remove a VERY thin layer of varnish on mahogany veneer. Whilst it softened the varnish, it also turned it into a gooey substance which is like a mix of contact adhesive, chewing gum and cold honey but only 10 times stickier. It is absolutely terrible. To make matters worse, it didn't soften all of the varnish!!!! I know the previous paint strippers were quite volatile, but THEY WORKED and were easy to clean up. At times you NEED volatile chemicals for some jobs. I understand an EU rule is to blame for this from some 5 years ago, so can't blame screwfix, Not happy. Now some DIY jobs have become impossible..groan!!
Date published: 2018-02-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from cheap but not so cheerful This product was purchased based on the previous review I found it to be totally inadequate on desolving the acrylic floor varnish my belt sander could not reach Very poor performance, i have no idea how it performs on paint, on floor varnish it wasn't up to scratch, suppose you get what you pay for... Would not recomnend DO NOT BUT ...... RUBBISH...
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for the price Cant believe how good this product was for the price had no trouble at all removing old thick dark varnish that had been on a oak door with intricate panels and beading for 30 years or more just followed the instructions had done the job perfect.
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works ok Yes this stuff works. Probably best to buy one more than you think you'll need as I did thankfully. I've used stronger stuff than this but this stuff still did the job, though it doesn't perform miracles. Remember to do 2 coats, one an hour after the first, then leave another 30mins to an hour.
Date published: 2018-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Done the job intended Gave this paint stripper a go based on price and previous reviews, and was not dissapointed. Applied to a glossed door frame, left overnight, and the shrivelled paint just fell off at the mercy of my stripping knife. A second layer was needed for small stubborn patches, and with some elbow grease fine sanding back the wood, really does look pukka. The bottle is not massive but more than enough for a door frame. Will definitely use again. Bare in mind although the product itself isn't as potent as its competitors, whatever its reacting with can be. keep them Windows and doors open people!
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Paint Stripper This is a great product. Easy to use, just follow the instructions. I used this on old paint that had been put on top of vanish it stripped everything back to the wood work. just needed a second coat on stubbing areas but didn't need to leave for hours just minuets. Brilliant. I would definitely purchase this again.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't work for me Read reviews and purchased two lots for finishing off 100 year old door that I started with a heat gun. Just wanted to remove the residual paint from the corners. Followed the instructions and also left overnight. just wouldn't touch the two layers of original paint. Due to health and safety, we, as DIY'ers, are not allowed the real thing these days. If you leave out the most effective ingredient it cannot be expected to work as well. However, not too pricey and perhaps it will work with modern paint so I won't return the second bottle.
Date published: 2018-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Great product. Left it on some metal brackets overnight and it stripped 20 years of paint off in one go. Hardly any odour so ideal.
Date published: 2018-01-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Car paint Hi, do not use this on car paint. I put this on car wheels to strip off the paint and it took days!!!! I hade to put on 5 or 6 coats on to get it off..
Date published: 2018-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stripper Bought a bungalow full of dark varnished wood in every room. Tried a couple of bottles of this stripper with little expectation,and was really surprised at the results. I ended up checking the stock at my local store and taking the lot! I have since returned for another 4 bottles. The only downside is the size of the bottle. I would prefer a larger bottle as I have a lot of area to cover.
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works reasonably well Does as it says after leaving some time for it to work since the EU mentalists outlawed the good ingredients.
Date published: 2018-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Applied onto layers of old paint built up over years just one coat. Left for six hours, came back and peeled off easily. Applied 2nd coat but didnt leave it to sit just used a scraper and scourer came off, no big dramas. Great product. No hesitation in recommending will buy again if needed. Reasonable price compared to other products out there and no strong smells.
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Utter useless ! I am trying this on some acrylic paint and it's not doing anything so a complete waste of time ! we have bought 2 bottles so I will take 1 back as its a waste of money, how it's got 4 stars I don't know as most people rate it as only 1 - Useless
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not early C20 brown varnish This does not strip early c20 dark brown varnish. Makes no difference how long or short you wait. Takes several coats to dent the top layer even with a scrapper. Cannot comment on other uses of this product.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Applied this to the surfaces I had to strip and it came off with ease. Will buy more when carrying out more work.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good little stripper Works well. Leave longer, several hours, for best results. No fear of toxic fumes or burns like Nitromors.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rubish Possibly the worst paint stripper I've ever used. Unless I had a dud bottle it doesn't strip paint total waist of money and time.
Date published: 2017-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional Bought a few bottles of this product to remove at least 50 plus years of paint and even varnish from our internal doors and got it due to trade recommendations and reviews on here - absolutely fantastic product and exceptional performance especially given the low competitive price a little goes a long way leave for 24/48 hours and see the paint lit off with ease using a scraper job done MJ :-)
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Nonsense paint remover Cheaper alternative to another well known brand & works so much better. Removed a good few layers of old paint from a door after second application. Glad I purchased this brand!
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the job. Very good. Does the job although needs a couple of coats for layers of paint. No complaints,
Date published: 2017-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Stripped all the old Mahogany vanish off the stairs banister, spindles and surrounds. Great product at a very great price. once all was off and sanded stairs look like new ready for priming and painting.
Date published: 2017-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from didn't work for me Bought on strength of positive reviews. Followed instructions to the letter but just made appalling mess and hardly removed any varnish
Date published: 2017-11-19
  • y_2018, m_4, d_22, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_287
  • loc_en_GB, sid_17091, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix

is this suitable for pvc

Asked by: Calh
Hello Calh,i have spoken to the supplier who have advised this should work fine with PVC however advises to test on a inconspicuous area first i hope this is useful thank you for using Q and A.JB
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2018-01-22

No Nonsense stripper 17091

Should the surfaces be scraped in between applications?
Asked by: Amatured
Hello Amatured,yes Leaving up to another 1 hour and checking every 15mins is a guide . It will be unlikely you will see any reaction like bubbling or smoking. Just check with a scraper at each period.thank you for using Q and A.JB
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2018-01-08

Can you use to remove paint from plastered walls

Asked by: Hhall
Hello, Our suppliers have advised this should not be a problem but they recommend testing on inconspicuous area first. Thank you for using Q&A.
Answered by: LAWR
Date published: 2018-01-07

Stripping modern acrylic paint !

Hi, Is it supposed to strip acrylic based paints ? I am trying it on some now and it doesn't seem to be working !
Asked by: Wili
The product will work on acrylic paints , however it is unlikely you will see any reaction like bubbling or lifting. It is worth trying an area with a scrapper. Several factors can affect the performance , such as time left , coverage and if the area was clean before applying.
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2018-03-11

Hi Can you use the stripper on pastersboard

Asked by: Brad88
Hello Brad88,our suppliers have advised this should not be a problem but they recommend testing on inconspicuous area first thank you for using Q and A.JB
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2017-11-02

Can this remove water, solvent and oil base paints?

Asked by: Warnie05
Hello Warnie05, This Paint & Varnish stripper should be capable of breaking down solvent based sealers and can be used on concrete. We would always suggest testing in an inconspicuous area before applying to the whole surface.thank you for using Q and A.JB
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2017-12-04

Can this remove paint from a ceramic shower tray

Asked by: Alfcon
Hello Afcon. That should be fine but we always recommend initially testing an inconspicuous area first. Hope that helps. Thank you for using Q&A. MH
Answered by: marchington
Date published: 2017-10-27

Can I use it to remove a build up of danish oil on my beech worktop.

Asked by: Peter196
Hello Peter196, As far as we are aware it might work, there is no information to say if it will work or not. The only thing we could say is try a test area to see if it works or not. Thank you for using Q&A, [BH].
Answered by: yeldarb
Date published: 2018-01-30

Can this remove solvent based acrylic sealer on Concrete

Asked by: creativehouzz
Hello creativehouzz, This Paint & Varnish stripper should be capable of breaking down solvent based sealers and can be used on concrete. We would always suggest testing in an inconspicuous area before applying to the whole surface. Thanks for using Q&A, KC
Answered by: KirstieC
Date published: 2017-10-23

Is this a liquid or a gel?

Asked by: CathGXX
The manufacturer has confirmed that this is a gel, it can be used on vertical surfaces. However it may run a little or 'curtain' if too much is applied at once. Hope that helps. Thank you for using Q&A. MH
Answered by: marchington
Date published: 2017-12-15

Will this remove bitumen paint on an external stone wall?

Asked by: J1403
Hello J1403,this might work on bitumen paint however we would recommend testing on a inconspicuous area first may require more than one application. thank you using Q and A.JB
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2017-10-05

will this remove masonry paint such as dulux weaTHERSHIELD FROM A BRICK WALL

O
Asked by: MIKEY123456789
Hello MIKEY123456789, This product is stated as being suitable for use on a stone wall so should be suitable for use on external masonry paint. Thank you for using Q & A. DC
Answered by: Dcoz
Date published: 2017-09-27

How long do you leave 2nd coat before scraping? Instructions say apply 2nd coat after one hour but no guidance for 2nd coat.

Asked by: Kevchenko
Leaving up to another 1 hour and checking every 15mins is a guide . It will be unlikely you will see any reaction like bubbling or smoking. Just check with a scraper at each period.
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2018-01-14

Will this remover work on a bike frame?

...
Asked by: Jaffa8430
Hello Jaffa8430, Every installation is different due to the varying circumstances of the site and environment. Therefore we advise that you contact a local tradesperson who will be able to view and assess your particular requirements. They will be able to provide further advice for the installation of the stripper. Thank you for using Q&A.
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2018-04-09

Would this work on a almenium garden table

Asked by: jrpj
Hello jrpj, This should be absolutely fine for use on the aluminium garden table, as always we advise you test it on an inconspicuous area to avoid any nasty surprises. Thank you for using Q&A, [BH].
Answered by: yeldarb
Date published: 2017-09-08

Removing paint from laminate flooring

I've just painted my skirtings and have a lot of paint marks on my laminate floor. Will this loft the paint spills without damaging the laminate?
Asked by: Anonymous
Would not recommend using on Laminate flooring .
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2017-11-27

Would this be any use for stripping stain on decking, have tried Ronseal Decking Stripper and it was useless

Asked by: Trace1
Hello As far as we are aware this product should be suitable for use on decking. thank you for using Q&A, [BH].
Answered by: yeldarb
Date published: 2017-08-11

Do you only need cold water to clean this off?

I've used a brush to apply it and a stainless steel scraper to remove it plus old paint.
Asked by: BernardE
Remove as much residue of No Nonsense Paint and Varnish Stripper and removed paint as possible. If the area is still very sticky and patches of paint are still there , it worth applying a further coat of the stripper. Once completed rinsing the treated area with water is correct.
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2018-03-12

Can this be used in a home garage floor to strip an existing epoxy paint on the surface?

Asked by: SMMM
The No Nonsense Paint & Varnish Stripper will work , If the following is followed and you are prepared to leave for up to 48 hours. 1.Remove any signs of grease or engine oil from the surface of the floor. 2. Coat generously with the stripper on the epoxy paint , one litre will cover 1 square meter 3. Cover with plastic sheeting and then leave. We would always recommend a test patch is performed first , for you to evaluate how affective it is ,effort required to scrap off and time taken. Based on this, will allow you to make an informed decision to perform the full job or not.
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2017-10-14

Will this remove old masonary paint?

Will this damage the stone work? Want to remove masonary paint.
Asked by: Kezzy
Hello Kezzy,This can be used on painted bricks. The instructions tell you what preparations are needed, how to apply it (dab it on not brush it on) and remove the paint. It may require more than one application to get all the paint off. 1 Litre will cover 1 square metre.” thank you for using Q and A.JB
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2017-09-23

Will this product strip polyurethane varnish from wood?

Asked by: Bobem
Good Afternoon Bobem The Nonsense Paint & Varnish Stripper will work on this type of varnish, but due to the nature of this varnish it will take time and effort to remove. Always worth performing a test patch first to evaluate how affective it is and to work out time and effort required. To save some time and effort once the remover is applied cover with cling film / plastic sheet and leave over night.
Answered by: TECH ADVICE
Date published: 2017-09-16

Is this suitable for stripping a factory finish powdercoat garage door which has been painted over with ordinary paint?

Asked by: H1947
Hi H1947, This product will be suitable to remove the paint from your garage door. Thank you for using Q&A. JBT
Answered by: JButt
Date published: 2017-08-01

Can this product be used on brick?

Asked by: JonnyBBad
Hi JonnyBBad, The supplier has advised that this can be used on painted bricks. The instructions tell you what preparations are needed, how to apply it (dab on not brush on) and remove the paint. It may require more than one application to get all the paint off. 1 Litre will cover 1 square metre.
Answered by: Pebo
Date published: 2017-09-16

Can I use this to strip old lead paint?

Asked by: Anonymous
Hello. Extra care and precautions should be taken when stripping lead paint and we would advise seeking guidance before undertaking a project of this nature, Thank you for using Q&A. MH
Answered by: marchington
Date published: 2018-04-06

will this remove emulsion from plasterboard

Asked by: waverly
Hello waverly, Yes, this product can be used for removing emulsion from plasterboard. We would recommend that you apply a small test area first and avoid letting the stripper soak into the plaster. Thanks for using Q&A, KC
Answered by: KirstieC
Date published: 2017-07-29

Will this product strip artex?

Asked by: ChipBored
Hello ChipBored, This product will not strip artex. Thank you for using Q&A. (LM).
Answered by: LMac
Date published: 2017-05-10

What is the coverage as I need to do 30m2 of grooved decking

Asked by: Mancunian45
Hello, Unfortunately we are unable to give you coverage information for this product as it will vary per situation and material. Thank you for using Q&A.
Answered by: WillFarrell
Date published: 2017-08-04

Will this product remove emulsion from concrete?

Asked by: Kef4
Hello Kef4, this should remove emulsion from concrete thank you for using Q and A.JB
Answered by: jboon
Date published: 2017-09-02

Is this suitable to strip multiple layers of gloss paint from 1930's metal window frames?

Asked by: AF1960
Hello AF1960, This should be absolutely fine for use on the metal window frames, as always we advise you test it on an inconspicuous area to avoid any nasty surprises. Thank you for using Q and A, EC.
Answered by: Chubbtonk
Date published: 2018-01-11

is this any good on decking

Asked by: artya4
Hello Artya4, This product would be suitable for use on decking. Thank you for using Q&A.
Answered by: LMac
Date published: 2017-06-13
  • y_2018, m_4, d_22, h_2CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_83
  • loc_en_GB, sid_17091, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
Specification
Brand No Nonsense
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Pack Size 1
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Product Type Paint & Varnish Stripper
Volume 500 ml

Downloads

Safety Data Sheet (COSHH)