As an essential retailer, our stores remain open across the UK

Makita M9400 4" Electric Belt Sander 240V (4558R)

£ 99.99INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Makita M9400 4" Electric Belt Sander 240V (4558R)

Robust and reliable belt sander designed for competent home users, apprentices and part-time tradesmen. Provides durable, industrial performance. Features a dust extraction facility with cloth dust bag. Ergonomically-designed soft-grip handle. Flat top for inverted applications, designed to enable flush sanding against walls. Can be connected to a dust extractor. Supplied with dust bag and an abrasive sanding belt.

  • 940W
  • Fixed Speed
  • Dust Bag & Extraction Facility
  • Soft-Grip Handle

More Info

View all: Makita Belt Sanders

£99.99INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Makita M9400 4" Electric Belt Sander 240V is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 76.
  • y_2021, m_2, d_23, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_76
  • loc_en_GB, sid_4558R, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 10ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Orange Makita - Really? I have been swapping out my power tools for the Makita 18v range of tools and have a few now. Once you purchase the batteries, buying bare body tools is the way to go; great quality at a reasonable price. However, belt sanders are a bit ‘juicy’ and so there doesn’t seem to be an 18v or dual 18v model available yet. I have never been disappointed with a Makita purchase and so when I saw the mains powered 4” belt sander for less than £100 I thought I’d give it a go. I haven’t seen an orange Makita before, but it looks like a cheaper range. I didn’t go for their their much more expensive blue version (two and a half times more expensive) in the hope that an 18v battery model will be developed at some point. I have a specific job to do with the machine and it’s costs-in for the job, any use after that is a bonus. So far so good, it does the job. I also like the fact that it is supplied with a simple bracket that allows you to use it inverted as a table sander.
Date published: 2021-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Belt sanding Had one of these for years. Managed to get the power cable irretrievably stuck between chassis and belt whilst sanding! Looked at all of the options and there is nothing on the market that compares at the price point for build/performance. So bought same again. Sanding a 90m square floor (rented kit not giving me the finish I wanted) and it’s doing a great job. Sands close to skirting, heavy enough to take the strain, easy to adjust belt.
Date published: 2021-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from heavy duty This is the best sander I have ever bought, I have previously always bought cheap sanders and had to wear ear protection, but this one is very quiet, it is heavy which is good because it effortlessly does the job, the only downside is I now need a decent box to put it in.
Date published: 2020-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makita quality Heavy but well built with very easy belt change and built to last. Hold on tight on first use as this sander is very powerful and its Also helpful to ensure that the workpiece is securely held. I added a breeze block to my workmate to hold it down - this just reflects the machines power. Great product at a good price. Bench clamp is a simple but great idea, which allows the sander to be used upside down on a bench. Would be even better if a spare set of rushes was included.
Date published: 2020-12-10
  • y_2021, m_2, d_23, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_76
  • loc_en_GB, sid_4558R, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 21ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Having problems with a blocked dust vent

The vent that allows dust to collect in the bag seems to be blocked but I cannot find the source. Please advice. Thanks
Asked by: Sandingproblems

drive belt

do you sell replacement drive belts for this sander or where can I purchase one
Asked by: shug41

This question has been asked before but the answer provided did not give detail ie catalogue numbers for suitable belts sold by screwfix.

Asked by: 66666666666666
Type "sanding belt 610 100" into the Screwfix search box - currently 4 options available with different grits
Answered by: alifib
Date published: 2021-01-29

Where is it made?

Asked by: glynnbob

What is in the box

Are there any sanding belts supplied with the machine If so how many and grit size
Asked by: MarkO56
Yes this is supplied with a belt
Answered by: Answers @ Makita
Date published: 2020-12-14
  • y_2021, m_2, d_23, h_23CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.14
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_15
  • loc_en_GB, sid_4558R, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: BV SEO Content for this product did not include verbose reviews.;
Specification
Belt Length 610 mm
Belt Width (Metric) 100 mm
Brand Makita
Brushless Brushed
Carry Case/Bag Included No
Corded Tool Weight 6.2 kg
Handle Type Soft-Grip Handle
Manual or Powered Powered
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Model No M9400
No Load Speed 380 m/min
Pack Size 1
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Plug Included Includes Plug.
Power Output (Watts/Kw) 940 W
Power Supply Electric
Power Voltage Supply 240 V
Product Length 354 mm
Product Type Belt Sander

Product contents

M9400, carbon plate, dust collection bag and abrasive sanding belt.