LAP MS8907 Voltage Detector Pen (3222G)

Professional electrical detector offers high quality performance for the non-contact detection of AC voltage.

  • CAT III 600V
  • Detects 100-1000V AC Voltage
  • Light & Sound Detection Response
  • Non-Contact
  • LED Flashlight

More Info

View all: LAP Voltage Testers

£6.74INC VAT

Add to basket for...

LAP MS8907 Voltage Detector Pen is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 210.
  • y_2018, m_4, d_22, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_210
  • loc_en_GB, sid_3222G, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Voltage Detector Pen What a great piece of kit and it gives you peace of mind that something isn’t live and that power is isolated should it need to be before you work on it.
Date published: 2018-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable and Peace of Mind I purchased this mainly for work and some electrical issue we are dealing with presently. I have used this with no problem at work and also on DIY jobs at home. Gives you peace of mind that something isn’t live and that power is isolated should it need to be before you work on it.
Date published: 2018-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value volt stick tester This is a very helpful piece of kit. Not professional grade but perfect for my needs and great value for money. Has a useful LED torch built in too and has nice build quality. Finds live wires with ease and gives both visual and audible indication.
Date published: 2018-03-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Voltage Detectior Pen Bought this after reading reviews and not disappointed . Very easy to use
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality imitation I don’t want to sound like a Moaner, I also leave good reviews when deserved. This tool feels cheap, and in the hands of the professional is unreliable and either over or under sensitive depending on the situation it is used it in. As this tool is designed to check for safe working conditions, I would not recommend it. There is a reason that it is one third of the price of other leading brands also sold by Screwfix. If you are buying for the workplace, then buy a real tool, not a household toy. I have given it to my kids to play with!
Date published: 2018-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic bit of kit What a tool, fantastic for testing live wires even find lives through plaster and stud wall deffo recommend to anyone.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyone needs 1 in there tool Broke last one . Good value does what it should.East to use cheap as chips......
Date published: 2018-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work safely n confident Does what it says on the tin. No more need to be said
Date published: 2018-02-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Voltage Dectector Wanted one after seeing it used, added no volts checker before working on wiring.
Date published: 2018-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought on a whim there was a promo box full of these on the counter and i fell for it. great piece of kit and it works ... amazing bit of safety gear. essential
Date published: 2018-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Safety Simple easy to use Non contact voltage tester, Safety tool
Date published: 2018-02-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fault from new On sliding the cover back to fit batteries I noticed the contact spring was missing from the battery terminal. It's now sitting in the car waiting for me to go near Screwfix to return for a refund.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and works well For the price I paid, this is a very handy little device. It's incredibly simple to use and seems to work with good accuracy. I've found that, when cables are close together, it can give a positive reading for a non-live cable simply because it is near a live wire (it doesn't have to be touching), but it just needs careful use. I always double check with a meter before working on cables.
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from voltage pen it works and has a torch what more can you ask for
Date published: 2018-02-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT very sensitive .... Ive had cheap ones in the past... But this is the first time i feel uneasy... Does not pick up a live socket from outside straight way.
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple but worth having Useful device easy to store would recommend it to anyone , could save your life.
Date published: 2018-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Voltage detector Perfect item for power detection on unknown cables.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value but not perfect This is a great value little tester pen, it is less 'sensitive' than others I've used, which IMHO is a good thing - it prevents false readings from nearby conductors. However it does mean you have to test right near the Live conductor, it is specific enough that if you test on the neutral side of a live T+E cable, it might not indicate. Best to check all around the cable. However the biggest gripe I have with it is the method of operation. With the pen you are looking for 'silence' as the 'safe' result when you are testing a circuit. So you have to turn the pen 'on' which it does silently, the only indicator that it is 'ready' is a dull and hard to see green LED in the tip, then after 30 seconds or so, it silently turns itself off for power saving. So if you are using for extended periods, you are never really sure, without double and triple checking, whether the circuit is dead (silence), or the circuit is live and pen has turned itself off (silence). Be aware - always check for the green LED on every test.
Date published: 2018-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gadget This tester is very good, I bought as wasn't sure of wiring in new house and made sure power was isolated correctly.
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick testing Perfect for quick testing, wouldn’t recommend for 100% dead testing, but a lot better than a neon screwdriver that are not very reliable, would recommend you check on a know live source 1st to make sure it lights up and beeps, for the money will defiantly get another,, please note, will beep and light up if knocked so be careful when checking live or possible know live items/cables
Date published: 2018-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value for the money Bought this as I had lost or lent my other one to do a quick job Nice little piece of kit that does the job, it even included batteries. Any one dealing with electrical should have one of these
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and Effective Exactly what I've need for years. Simple to follow instructions and so far works very well for such a small purchase.
Date published: 2018-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Badly designed switch For me, having a switch that toggles the detector on or off with a very light action is a major weakness. If I leave it in my toolbox, the switch will probably get jostled on, so the next time I want to use it, the batteries will be flat.
Date published: 2018-01-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dead or ALIVE? Just like having your own Sonic Screwdriver... After having fun being the DR, I have found on a real-world test that the Sonic screwdriver doesn't cut the mustard. After finding a dead cable LIVE and a live cable DEAD. It seems that this device is either over sensitive and sees everything as being ALIVE, including Wood, Plaster and my Leg! Do a test on a known LIVE cable and its ffine, it identifies its LIVE. But, on a job well it lacks accuracy, and it seems that any angle or position you put the pen in can cause the LIVE detection to detect that the DEAD is LIVING.... Its sort of a ZOMBIE detector... I wouldn't trust this device, so I am now looking for a more accurate device to confirm if my DEAD Cable that is ALIVE from time to time with this Pen Tester is really DEAD or intermittently ALIVE! OVERALL, for the money its a good quick test, but wouldn't stick my reputation on this if I was a professional electrician! Fortunately I am just a DIYer, so its just OK... As said makes a GREAT Sonic Screwdriver...
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value and does the job Great little piece of kit for the novice. Just the job to check for live cables. Well worth spending a few quid to be on the safe side.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have This is a must have for anyone who either occasionally or constantly works on electrical circuits. It's a great way of safely and easily determining if the circuit you are going to work on is correctly isolated without touching the cable or appliance. A green led shows when there is no electronic interference from the circuit and a red led shows when there is active power as well as an obnoxious beeping. A little white led flashlight is a welcomed addition to an already great tool.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Design flaws I've used previous revisions of this before, but this updated model is useless and actively misleading. - Too sensitive; often beeps in your hand as well as earth/neutral - Randomly switches off during use, giving silence on live electrics, which is plain dangerous I bought this in store so hadn't seen reviews. Positive reviews are likely to be for people using older versions of the unit -- which worked great and had a proper on/off switch rather than just a button. The old design was just fine.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Herefordscrewfix Absolutely spot on, I must have in any tool box, form the price why take the risk. Tells you exactly what is love and not live. Also has a handy light the can be used if testing in darker areas
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Voltage tester Easy to use, safe, good value for money, recommend it to all.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use Life Saving Device I've had one of these for a few years now so it was one of the first tools I purchased for my son when he started on his Electrical Apprenticeship. Delivers quality just as well as far more expensive similar products. No tradesman, nor DIYer should be without one. STAY SAFE & STAY ALIVE.
Date published: 2017-12-14
  • y_2018, m_4, d_22, h_4
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_210
  • loc_en_GB, sid_3222G, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix

Loft wires

This maybe a dull question but I need to find what cables are live in the loft. So if I switch a light switch on can I test the cable in the loft what is connected as in live? Thanks
Asked by: FromHouse2Home
Hello FromHouse2Home, This is the sort of job that you would use this detector for, it would be suitable and will give you a reading. Thank you for using Q & A.
Answered by: Dcoz
Date published: 2017-04-25

Hi, will this test outdoor armoured cables okay?

Asked by: paulaw
Hi Paulaw, Due to it being non contact it is unlikely that it will be able to test armored cable. Thank you for using Q and A.
Answered by: mailliw
Date published: 2017-11-27

Bought 2 of these, one for my son, and neither have a green LED that flashes, just lights permanently. Wonder if the instructions are incorrect.

Asked by: Woody73
Hi Woody73, If the product is not functioning as described please return it to your nearest Screwfix trade counter. Thank you for using Q and A.
Answered by: mailliw
Date published: 2016-12-20

Same question as the previous person: manual states green light will flash when switched on to indicate devise is working, mine just turns on with a solid green light? Device otherwise works fine.

Asked by: DJLDanny

Green light does not flash on switching on

The manual states if the green light does not flash when turned on then the unit is not working correctly
Asked by: snowysport

Will this meter also work with automotive circuits I need a meter that can detect DC currents in my vehicle

Asked by: Anonymous
The non contact pen is for detecting AC volts only. The best and easiest device for use on DC car electrics is a 12volt test lamp, or secondly a multimeter.
Answered by: Woody73
Date published: 2016-07-21
  • y_2018, m_4, d_22, h_4CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_en_GB, sid_3222G, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
Specification
Battery Type AAA
Brand LAP
Colour Black & Blue
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Model No MS8907
Pack Size 1
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Product Height 25 mm
Product Length 140 mm
Product Type Voltage Detector Pen
Product Width 20 mm
Total Product Weight 0.06 kg

Detecting distance 5mm. Frequency 50Hz-60Hz . Operating temperature 0-50°C (30-122°F). Operating humidity 85%RH. Battery type AAA.