LAP MS8907 Voltage Detector Pen (3222G)

Professional electrical detector offers high quality performance for the non-contact detection of AC voltage.

  • CAT III 600V
  • Detects 100-1000V AC Voltage
  • Light & Sound Detection Response
  • Non-Contact
  • LED Flashlight

More Info

£6.74INC VAT

Add to basket for...

LAP MS8907 Voltage Detector Pen is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 186.
  • y_2018, m_1, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_186
  • loc_en_GB, sid_3222G, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value and does the job Great little piece of kit for the novice. Just the job to check for live cables. Well worth spending a few quid to be on the safe side.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must Have This is a must have for anyone who either occasionally or constantly works on electrical circuits. It's a great way of safely and easily determining if the circuit you are going to work on is correctly isolated without touching the cable or appliance. A green led shows when there is no electronic interference from the circuit and a red led shows when there is active power as well as an obnoxious beeping. A little white led flashlight is a welcomed addition to an already great tool.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Design flaws I've used previous revisions of this before, but this updated model is useless and actively misleading. - Too sensitive; often beeps in your hand as well as earth/neutral - Randomly switches off during use, giving silence on live electrics, which is plain dangerous I bought this in store so hadn't seen reviews. Positive reviews are likely to be for people using older versions of the unit -- which worked great and had a proper on/off switch rather than just a button. The old design was just fine.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Herefordscrewfix Absolutely spot on, I must have in any tool box, form the price why take the risk. Tells you exactly what is love and not live. Also has a handy light the can be used if testing in darker areas
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Voltage tester Easy to use, safe, good value for money, recommend it to all.
Date published: 2017-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use Life Saving Device I've had one of these for a few years now so it was one of the first tools I purchased for my son when he started on his Electrical Apprenticeship. Delivers quality just as well as far more expensive similar products. No tradesman, nor DIYer should be without one. STAY SAFE & STAY ALIVE.
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not the best It's not very reliable showing services live when dead think it's too sensitive tbh I find my self using another tester just to make sure so complete waste of time if you ask me
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compact and does the job Great value, perfect for the job needed. Exactly what I needed
Date published: 2017-12-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value easy to use, torch very good nice and bright very handy
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of time and money Bought one of these earlier and it seems to detect voltage even though I know for sure the circuit is disconnected. Checked the instructions and it seems that it should flash to show its self test completed ok. Mine had a solid green light. Took it back for a replacement and tried another 3 in store. None of which did the self test successfully. Brought a new one home in case it is an instruction issue and same as the first one.
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fell apart 1st battery change. Fell apart on first battery change. Cant be used now. Get what you pay for I suppose.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just buy it Small price to pay to save electric shocks , taking out a unused alarm box was just going to remove though it was disconnected. Had to double check bought tester touched it on wire to find it was. Live
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from LAPMS8907 VOLTAGE DETECTOR PEN Handy bit of kit. Works well and is of a size where it can be easily carried in your top pocket so it’s a,ways to hand.
Date published: 2017-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lap voltage detector Excellent piece of kit and simple to operate, light weight easy to store and very robust
Date published: 2017-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pen tester Good value for money, would recommend to tradesmen and diy'ers
Date published: 2017-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to use and tracked down the problem. Wish I’d bought one years ago
Date published: 2017-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protect yourself with this A simple tool to ensure you are safe at a very reasonable price. You may think a circuit is safe but mistakes by you or some previous "electrician" may put you at risk. I would recommend this in every tool box. I wish I had this years ago but not available then.
Date published: 2017-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from lap voltage detector good product, led light useful addition in awkward spots. good value for money.
Date published: 2017-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product Great piece of kit, invaluable addition to your toolbox
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy bit of kit Handy to keep in your tool box. Cheap and reliable. Ideall for testing wires when you are busy working stopping you making any error as to whether it’s live or not.
Date published: 2017-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy voltage detector Excellent compact bit of kit which I find invaluable in my work. Loved the new torch feature which my other tester doesn't have, it comes in very handy when identifying the cables.
Date published: 2017-10-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It does the job I have a fluke and a uni-t version but wanted one to keep in my small tool pouch instead of hauling my full kit around. It seems to work as good as the other two and you can afford to loose this one or lend it to others.
Date published: 2017-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bargain price A little hard to see if the power light is ON especially in bright outdoor light but it does the job and for the price, it's a bargain.
Date published: 2017-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I have to say that I hoestly think at this price ever one should have one in their tool box Brighouse team a the best store thanks all
Date published: 2017-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect little tester Great voltage non contact tester. Remember when the Fluke ones were really expensive. Why not have this in your tool box
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does exactly what it say Good tester, will get the job done. Bought this to replace the old one.
Date published: 2017-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value Bought this tester to replace my old one which had stopped working. Good basic tester that does the job.
Date published: 2017-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy tool This is a very useful tool for quick testing. Can indicate if their is voltage through cable. No need to open connections.
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Accurate Bought this pen as a means of testing live wires as part of a new home renovation. However, although this pen in fact appears to detect live wires quite accurately, it also detects dead wires as live. I therefore returned the item to Screwfix.
Date published: 2017-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cheap but works well A great piece of kit that works well . Low price but does everything the maker claims.
Date published: 2017-08-20
  • y_2018, m_1, d_18, h_7
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_186
  • loc_en_GB, sid_3222G, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix

Loft wires

This maybe a dull question but I need to find what cables are live in the loft. So if I switch a light switch on can I test the cable in the loft what is connected as in live? Thanks
Asked by: FromHouse2Home
Hello FromHouse2Home, This is the sort of job that you would use this detector for, it would be suitable and will give you a reading. Thank you for using Q & A.
Answered by: Dcoz
Date published: 2017-04-25

Hi, will this test outdoor armoured cables okay?

Asked by: paulaw
Hi Paulaw, Due to it being non contact it is unlikely that it will be able to test armored cable. Thank you for using Q and A.
Answered by: mailliw
Date published: 2017-11-27

Bought 2 of these, one for my son, and neither have a green LED that flashes, just lights permanently. Wonder if the instructions are incorrect.

Asked by: Woody73
Hi Woody73, If the product is not functioning as described please return it to your nearest Screwfix trade counter. Thank you for using Q and A.
Answered by: mailliw
Date published: 2016-12-20

Same question as the previous person: manual states green light will flash when switched on to indicate devise is working, mine just turns on with a solid green light? Device otherwise works fine.

Asked by: DJLDanny

Green light does not flash on switching on

The manual states if the green light does not flash when turned on then the unit is not working correctly
Asked by: snowysport

Will this meter also work with automotive circuits I need a meter that can detect DC currents in my vehicle

Asked by: Anonymous
The non contact pen is for detecting AC volts only. The best and easiest device for use on DC car electrics is a 12volt test lamp, or secondly a multimeter.
Answered by: Woody73
Date published: 2016-07-21
  • y_2018, m_1, d_18, h_7CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_11
  • loc_en_GB, sid_3222G, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
Specification
Battery Type AAA
Brand LAP
Colour Black & Blue
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Model No MS8907
Pack Size 1
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Product Height 25 mm
Product Length 140 mm
Product Type Voltage Detector Pen
Product Width 20 mm
Total Product Weight 0.06 kg

Detecting distance 5mm. Frequency 50Hz-60Hz . Operating temperature 0-50°C (30-122°F). Operating humidity 85%RH. Battery type AAA.