Fischer UX8 High Performance Universal Plugs 8 x 50mm… (20669)

£ 6.65INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Fischer UX8 High Performance Universal Plugs 8 x 50mm 100 Pack (20669)

One plug fits all materials. Use in brick, concrete, plasterboard and soft block. Long life and high performance. Suitable for internal and external applications.

  • Nylon

More Info

View all: Fischer Wall Plugs

Bulk Save Save up to 10%
Bulk savings
QTY Price per item Saving
1 £6.65 -
2 - 4 £6.31 Save 5%
5 + £5.98 Save 10%
£6.65INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not work as expected Sorry, picked these up on Saturday, based on excellent reviews. I needed to fix a towel rail into plasterboard, so drilled an 8mm hole as per instructions, inserted a no8 screw and turned. Unfortunately it just kept turning and never locked up, so I had to drill it out and repair the plasterboard. Will fix a batten to the timber uprights and fit the rail to that. So far, I am not impressed with these amazing fixings!
Date published: 2022-02-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected I had to carry out an emergency repair on the handrail on our stairs. The bottom bracket fits to a brick wall, but the top goes on a hollow wall. I had previously used the self-tapping screw-in type fir the top: they held for about 10 years, but our extra lock-down weight has had its toll, and they were never 100% secure. I knew this wasn’t the strongest solution but I don’t have the tool for the best option so thought I’d give these plugs a go, albeit with low expectations. I’m amazed at the security of the fitting. It really is solid, and hasn’t budged a millimetre over the weekend. I think I would have preferred a slightly narrower plug, but otherwise these seem to be quality.
Date published: 2022-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wall plugs I find Screwfix so easy to use. They always have everything you need. The plugs are fantastic and very user friendly. I definitely recommend!!!!!! Great product!!!!!
Date published: 2021-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made life easy Great product Always use the 8 x 50 for performance grip on many of my projects
Date published: 2021-09-06
  • y_2022, m_6, d_27, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
  • loc_en_GB, sid_20669, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 119ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Screw Diameter

Product specs state: "Suits Screw Diameter 4.5 mm"....shouldn't this product be a better match for a 6mm dia screws? 4.5mm is too thin and would usually use a 6 or 7mm plug for that. Please confirm if this product suits a 6mm diameter screw. Thanks
Asked by: Alibabba
The Fischer website states that UX8 Wall Plug will accept screw sizes from 4.5mm to 6 mm. I used 4.5 mm screws (as stated in Screwfix description) and they went in easily.
Answered by: BathBun
Date published: 2021-08-09

What length of screw should be used?

I am looking to hang picture ledges as mentioned in a previous question, onto 12mm plasterboard, what length of screw should be used?
Asked by: Ross1984
Hi Ross The screw should be long enough to penetrate the plug. So has to be at least 65mm + the thickness of what you are hanging. Best Regards Technical Team
Answered by: fischertech
Date published: 2020-10-06

What is the max weight this will hold?

I am looking to mount some picture ledges on a plasterboard wall. The ledges are about 2kg and the additional weight added approx 1kg. The ledges have no bracket and would screw straight into the plug, Will this be suitable?
Asked by: Ross1984
Thanks for your enquiry, an UX 8 x 50 plug with a 6mm Ø screw in plasterboard will have a capacity of about 10kg. regards Technical.
Answered by: fischertech
Date published: 2020-07-07

Insulated plasterboard

If I drill deep enough into the blocks would these be ok for dot and dab insulated plasterboard walls? And what screws would you recommend? I'm trying to put up kitchen wall units.
Asked by: TanBoxer
For kitchen wall cupboards we would recommend fixing a piece of timber through the insulated plasterboard with a frame fixing first. I dont think a plug and screw would be safe enough. Please contact technical@fischer.co.uk with a sketch of what the wall looks like please.
Answered by: fischertech
Date published: 2020-07-04

Hi, Is this suitable to hang a heater (about 30 KG) on a breeze blocks wall? There will be four fixings. I look forward to hearing from you.

Thank you.
Asked by: Shab123
The fischer UX8x50 with an Ø6mm screw, long enough to go right through, will hold around 20kgs/fixing. If you have more details, you can email technical@fischer.co.uk for more information
Answered by: fischertech
Date published: 2020-06-04
  • y_2022, m_6, d_27, h_20CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_7
  • loc_en_GB, sid_20669, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 121ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: BV SEO Content for this product did not include verbose reviews.;
Specification
Brand Fischer
Colour Grey
Construction Material (Fixings) Nylon
Drill Size 8 mm
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Model Name UX8
Pack Size 100
Parent Colour Grey
Pieces in Pack/Case 100
Product Diameter 8 mm
Product Length 50 mm
Product Type High Performance Universal Plugs
Suits Screw Diameter 4.5 mm

Downloads

Instruction Manual