British General Fortress 8-24V AC 8VA Bell… (8707P)

£ 8.95INC VAT

Add to basket for...

British General Fortress 8-24V AC 8VA Bell Transformer Module (8707P)

For use with metal or insulated consumer units and enclosures. Provides constant power to a mains-powered door bell. Can be used in a high integrity circuit. Works with a hard wired door bell, stepping down the voltage from 230V to 8-24V.

  • DIN Rail Mounted Fitting
  • Overload Protection
  • 2 Modules

More Info

View all: British General Doorbell Transformers

£8.95INC VAT

Add to basket for...

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used with Ring doorbell Used this transformer in conjunction with my Ring v.2 doorbell. The wire clamps are a good size so you aren't fiddling about trying to find them. They clamp securely. Reasonably priced and good quality.
Date published: 2022-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nest Perfect for running a nest or ring door bell. Can be placed inside the fuse board or a separate enclosure.
Date published: 2022-06-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Over Voltage!! This Transformer doesn’t have a voltage Regulator! It blew my brand new doorbell (smoke came out of the doorbell). Tested voltage with Multimeter, & all 4 voltage options were well over the stated voltage (eg. 16v for 12v)!! Beware!!
Date published: 2022-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used for Google/Nest doorbell Needed a transformer to supply a Google Nest doorbell at 24V. This does the job and the price is great. Easy to fit and no humming. I used ferrules on my outgoing wires to give the clamps more to bite on to as the openings are quite wide on this product.
Date published: 2022-04-27
  • y_2022, m_6, d_29, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_74
  • loc_en_GB, sid_8707P, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

What is the electricty cost of the transformer?

The no load current of this transformer as 45 mA. which means it uses 11 watts of electricity when on and not drawing a bell current (most of the time) If electricity cost 28p Kw/hr that would mean the annual cost is £27 Is that correct?
Asked by: GreenDave
Hi GreenDave, Based on your kWh charge suggestion (which a quick internet search seems to indicate is a possibly a little high). 45mA at 240V (nominally) is 10.8W, and this drops to 10.35W if you take a more average 230V. Still 10.8W, or 0.0108 x 28p = 0.3024p/h, x24h = 7.2576p/day, x365.25 = 2650.8384p or £26.51 (which drops to £25.40 at 230V). One other thing to bear in mind, the no-load readings for a transformer coil can (sometimes) be skewed an unpredictable amount by interactions between the actual transformer coil and the sensing coils in the meter, which if it happens almost invariably causes a `phantom' rise in the readings.
Answered by: Luceco Technical Team
Date published: 2022-05-10

Can I wire two Ring doorbell wired to this unit?

I want to put a Ring wired door bell at the front and another at the back of my house - can they both be run off of a single transformer?
Asked by: BobBeer
Hi BobBeer As long as the wattage of both door bells does not exceed the 8VA rating when connected to the circuit (8W), then you should be able to add both doorbells on this single Bell Transformer Hope this helps,should you require any further assitance please contact us directly on 01952 238128
Answered by: Luceco Technical Team
Date published: 2022-04-25

Not enough power??

The RING Wired doorbell specifies a power requirement of 40 VA. Maybe 30VA is really enough... but why are folk surprised when this transformer rated for 8VA hums or packs up after a while?
Asked by: foxyrhyl

Will this fit my consumer unit, I have Wylex type B breakers? And can it fit behind the cover (I don't have enough spaces)?

Asked by: Wardy2
Hi Wardy2, We do not have any specific technical details for other manufacturers' enclosures or devices, but we would expect that the vast majority of circuit protection devices are within an acceptable tolerance of being the same dimensions. We don't think you will have much luck trying to squeeze the transformer beneath the front cover though as it has a section which sticks out through the usual device slot just as much as our other devices (MCBs, RCBOs, RCDs etc.).
Answered by: Luceco Technical Team
Date published: 2022-03-14

How do i get 8 volts

I have tried two of these but cant get 8 volts. across 0 and 8 give 12 volts, 0 and 12 gives 16 v and 0 and 24 give 32 volts?????? Very confusing
Asked by: swpg
Humm, I’m not sure I like the ”official” response. A simple transformer as this will be will have the same non-load, as load-voltage. The product may not be quite right, so try between 16v and 24v to get 8 V. Or Your meter is not reading RMS correctly and it’s actually working fine, delivering 8VRMS, but being measured as 12V Peak to peak.
Answered by: Dandymon
Date published: 2022-05-06
  • y_2022, m_6, d_29, h_21CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_56
  • loc_en_GB, sid_8707P, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: BV SEO Content for this product did not include verbose reviews.;
Specification
Brand British General
CSU Device Bell Transformers
Incomer Fitting Type DIN Rail Mounted
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Model Name Fortress
Model No CUB1-01
Output Voltage 8-24 V AC
Pack Size 1
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Product Type Bell Transformer Module
Rated Operational Voltage (Ue) 240 V AC
Suitable Cable Size 16 mm²