British General 8-24V 8VA Bell Transformer Module (8707P)

£ 8.95INC VAT

Add to basket for...

British General 8-24V 8VA Bell Transformer Module (8707P)

For use with metal or insulated consumer units and enclosures. Provides constant power to a mains-powered door bell. Can be used in a high integrity circuit. Works with a hard wired door bell, stepping down the voltage from 230V to 8-24V.

  • Output Voltage: 8-24V
  • DIN Rail Mounted Fitting
  • Overload Protection
  • Model No: CUB1-01
  • 1 Year Guarantee
  • 2 Modules

More Info

View all: British General Doorbell Transformers

£8.95INC VAT

Add to basket for...

British General 8-24V 8VA Bell Transformer Module is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 28.
  • y_2020, m_7, d_12, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_GB, sid_8707P, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 21ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nest hello installation+Chime This transformer came well well packaged. The transformer itself is high quality plastic. I used it with the Nest Hello Video Doorbell. The nest doorbell supports 12-24V. I set it up with 12V connecting to terminals 0and 12. I housed the transformer in a wylex ese2 ip40 enclosure also available from screwfix. I connected this item to a Honeywell / Friedland D117 ding dong chime. Check out my installation video on youtube youtu.be/vR9XI-A2u50
Date published: 2020-06-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works with Google (Nest) Hello Bought this together with a Wylex ESE2 IP40 2-Module Unpopulated DIN Enclosure to operate a new Google hello video doorbell, replacing a battery operated doorbell. Works well - very happy with it.
Date published: 2020-06-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rubbish I just wanted a doorbell transformer. Battery powered bells run out of battery & so waste of time. You’d think simple. Every other transformer I own - phones, iPads, etc. - plugs into mains but this needs an electrician. More expense on top of already buying a mains powered doorbell that idiotically does not come with fitted transformer so doesn’t work out of box. The consumer unit is two rooms away from hallway so fitting a doorbell and transformer is a major project. I can’t use the product before reviewing it because it is simply not fit for Purpose. Wish I’d never started.
Date published: 2020-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DOORBELL TRANSFORMER. Bought this transformer for my Battery Operated video doorbell that did not come with one but had a option to connect with wires. Was not sure at what Voltage it should be connected as on the doorbell manual the diagram was showing 8V and The requirement of the transformer on the Manual was between 16V to 24V (Bit confusing). Anyways,This transformer done a great job,Installed 2 days ago.Hope it lasts.
Date published: 2020-03-21
  • y_2020, m_7, d_12, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_GB, sid_8707P, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Nm - How Tight do you Tighten then screw connections

No documentation was provided just unit and box. Can you confirm how tight this units needs to be tighten in Nm? MCB are normally tightened to Nm 2-2.5 RCD are normally tightened to Nm 2.5-3
Asked by: MecoMac
Hi MecoMac, Due to the much smaller terminal screw sizes the CUB1 has a 0.8Nm torque level.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2020-07-10

Anyone experienced the transformer making a buzzing noise and unit getting hot?

We've replaced our standard 8v transformer to this one for the Nest Hello bell, we've noticed that the unit is making a humming noise and it gets quite hot. Anyone knows why and do you think there is a problem with it?
Asked by: Annakent
Hi Annakent, Audible noise and heat buildup in a transformer can indicate an incompatible load, most likely an overload drawing too much power through the transformer. This transformer has a maximum 8W output, so at 8V it outputs 1A, at 12V 2/3A and at 24V 1/3A (if the Hello needs more than this level of power then that will be the cause of the observed effects).
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2020-07-10

This has connections which go from 0-8-12-24V. Can I wire this to give me 16V by connecting the 8 and the 24?

Asked by: Jeff16V
Unless they have done something very weird inside, which does not represent the taps shown on the case then what you say should give you the 16V.
Answered by: ZiggyZag
Date published: 2020-05-17

VA rating

It says this is rated a 8VA but at what voltage 8 or 24v?
Asked by: ALancashireLad
Hi ALancashireLad, This transformer is 8 Volt Amps, or 8 Watts, so at 8V it outputs 1A, at 12V 0.666A and at 24V 0.333A.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2020-03-24

Another nest V AC VA question...

The nest hello requires a voltage or 16VAC to 24VAC with 10VA (12VAC with an update, apparently...) I take it, because this transformer is only rated to 8VA @ 12/24VAC then, it isn't compatible?
Asked by: DIYDicky
Yes it will work. Connect the bell wires between 8V and 24V to give you approx 16V output. This will then match most of the bells Nest list as compatible along with the Nest Hello itself
Answered by: RednalSparky
Date published: 2020-04-24
  • y_2020, m_7, d_12, h_15CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_40
  • loc_en_GB, sid_8707P, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 22ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: BV SEO Content for this product did not include verbose reviews.;
Specification
Amp Rating 8 VA
Brand British General
CSU Device Bell Transformers
Incomer Fitting Type DIN Rail Mounted
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Model No CUB1-01
Overload Protection Overload Protection
Pack Size 1
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Power Voltage Supply 230 V
Product Depth 68 mm
Product Height 80 mm
Product Type Bell Transformer Module
Product Width 35 mm
Terminal Capacity Terminals accept up to 16mm² cable
Total Product Weight 0.32 kg