Save Time, Please use Click & Collect

British General 13A 2-Gang SP Switched Metal Clad… (4714P)

£ 15.89INC VAT

Add to basket for...

British General 13A 2-Gang SP Switched Metal Clad Passive RCD Switched Socket with White Inserts (4714P)

13A max. load. Trips at 30mA. Passive operation. Heavy duty, metal-clad moulded safety RCD switched socket that protects against the risk of a fatal shock. Latched with no need to reset after a loss of power.

  • Raised Rounded Profile
  • Screwed Faceplate
  • Colour-Coded Angled In-Line Terminals with Captive Screws
  • Side & Base Knockouts
  • No Coating
  • Heavy Duty Metal Clad
  • IK02

More Info

View all: British General RCD Sockets & Spurs

£15.89INC VAT

Add to basket for...

British General 13A 2-Gang SP Switched Metal Clad Passive RCD Switched Socket with White Inserts is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 38.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_11, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_GB, sid_4714P, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 27ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Add to saved list...

Save
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First class. This is the fourth one bought, I fitted one to my shed two years ago, another shed plus an extension to my original shed no dought about it, I fitted three more,
Date published: 2020-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RCD socket Great quality product. Plenty room in the terminals for 2X4mm2 cables with loads of space in box for spreading cable.
Date published: 2020-06-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Backbox a bit too shallow Top and bottom entry will be incredibly tight, I'm using both sides (20mm glands) with 3 way wagos, and the fitting is still very tight. The faceplate section is fine. Knock-outs popped out instantly and cleanly snugging up some plastic 20mm conduit and a hammer. Tested fine.
Date published: 2020-05-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good replacement Used this to replace and old faulty rcd in the garage. If like me was hoping to use old back box check where the back box earth connector is positioned as it can foul the back of the rcd when trying to screw onto the box, not like I did and had to disconnect and change box for the one supplied with rcd. Other than that looks good and fitted well. Put 5 stars for reliability but only used for couple of days so time will tell. All in all good value and first class service as always with my local Screwfix crew.
Date published: 2020-01-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Exactly What I wanted The only downside was the connectors were at the top and the previous faceplate had them at the rear. This left the cables tighter than I would like. Only had a couple of days and its hard to review a plug socket
Date published: 2019-12-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from one critisism God quality, good price. One criticism when top entering with conduit, it restricts the cable and a thin bush should be used,so that the tripping mechanism is not hindered.
Date published: 2019-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality unit I like this RCD-protected outlet so much that I have just bought a second one. It is useful that it comes with the metal back box included.
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from RCD switch socket A good product at a good price and was easily fitted. I would recommend this product
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality RCD Socket Have 2 of these in my garage. Good quality fitting.
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Job done. Screwfix have come up trumps again, top product, low price. Just the job.
Date published: 2019-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 13A 2gang RCD switche plug soc Easy to fit change over an old unit in minutescompelect
Date published: 2019-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple to fit wanted to change a 1 socket to a double socket RCD switch, no problems in making the "switch"
Date published: 2019-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy peace of mind Easy to install, easy to test and peace of mind working in my garage with various power tools and appliances...
Date published: 2019-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value and good quality What can I say? I does what it says on the box. Quality product. It is supplied with a surface mount box.
Date published: 2019-02-09
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor design The knockouts cannot be knocked out, I tried and deformed the box eventually drilling it out. If a conduit fitting is used in the top entry the cables coming through it will stop the socket screwing back properly
Date published: 2018-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rcd socket I bought this item for my customer and i fitted for him. He need this socket for using tools. I think this is good choice because it is got protection of RCD.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Safety at a great price Fitted the 2 gang RCD socket to my father-in -law's shed to make sure what ever electrical accessory he plugged in would ensure his safety automatically. He's 92 and the garden means a lot to him, as he does to us.
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not deep enough The box is too cramped for the device. Not enough room for the conductors, they fit but takes alot of fiddling. In short spend more money it will save you time and grief.
Date published: 2018-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value RCD double socket Easy to fit, providing great value over similar products that cost twice as much or more.
Date published: 2018-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value A good value rcd socket that performs as well as sockets costing twice the price
Date published: 2018-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Double rcd metal clad socket Just the job good build alot cheaper than othet makes but works great
Date published: 2018-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DEPTH OF SOCKET IN BOX Although the product is of decent quality, there is a poor design fault. The thickness of the back half of the socket at the (top and bottom is dreadful) and it impedes certain 20mm glands completely. Once wired and connected I had to disconnect and remove again and change the layout completely because the socket front wouldn’t screw back with the gland in the pre made 20mm K/O at the bottom centre. ID SAY, DO NOT USE ANY FLEXIBLE CONDUIT WITH THIS PRODUCT. OR MALE CONCUIT ADAPTORS. Socket needs to be slimmer or box needs to be 5-10mm deeper. But considering the metal knock out box is already 30mm deep. This shouldn’t be a problem and is a terribly thick socket which in turn causes unnecessary problems. I WOULDNT EVEN ATTEMPT 25MM ANYTHING WITH THIS PRODUCT EITHER.
Date published: 2018-03-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rcd socket Cheap rcd socket to replace a damaged one, does the job.
Date published: 2018-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Essential Essential bit of safety kit reliable a little low on space in back box overall great product
Date published: 2018-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic safety for workshop This socket provides a very rebust socket & electrical safety protection in any workshop.
Date published: 2017-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good solid sockets Replaced a failed unit with this double RCD unit, looks good and works well, reliablity will only be measured in time,
Date published: 2017-11-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No good for garden equipment Purchased for my electrician to fit. It turns out this product is not suitable for outdoor power tools and garden equipment use. I didn't appreciate what latching is. This is not stated on the website and only appears on the instructions sealed in the packing.Clearer description on the website would be useful as I now have to wait for the return of my electrician to fit another one. I cannot give it any rating as I never got beyond reading the instructions
Date published: 2017-09-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RCD switch socket Well made metal socket, but dont use a SWA gland in the centre knockout at the bottom of the back box, you will have trouble screwing the face plate on if the cable is cut long inside.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rcd socket Had an old one fail, bought this one to replace it. Easy to fit and works everytime
Date published: 2017-01-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from RCD SWITCHED 2 Gang Socket Bought this to fit in my garage, quality fitting at a good price, so much so when my neighbour saw it, he has purchased one.
Date published: 2017-01-22
  • y_2020, m_8, d_11, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_GB, sid_4714P, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 146ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

Can this be used externally if fitted inside a waterproof enclosure

Asked by: Tsmdiyer
Hi Tsmdiyer, As long as the socket is not getting wet and is operating within normal temperature ranges (usually roughly -15 to +35 C) then there should be no problems with its function.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2020-02-10

fitting

could i remove the double socket from 67928 (weatherproof box) and fit this inside instead.
Asked by: helaus
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. The 67928 BG 13A 2G DP Switched Socket is designed to work with sockets from the Nexus Moulded range (800 series) with the curved profile faceplates, so this British General 13A 2-Gang RCD Switched Plug Socket Metal-Clad will nit be compatible as its face is flat. Actually, the enclosure from the 67928 is available with an RCD double socket already installed, as product code 91095.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2019-08-02

Will this device take 13 up to amps in of its 2 sockets?

Asked by: Andmwright
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. The metalwork feeding the sockets in this British General 13A 2-Gang RCD Switched Plug Socket Metal-Clad will cope with being loaded to 26A easily, so the only other limiting factor to consider would be the supply cabling and circuit breaker ratings.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2019-05-11

Fitting on timber without earth wire?

is this socket suitable for fixing straight onto timber (under stairs) with the electric line coming into the box missing the earth wire for connection to all our home entertainment systems?
Asked by: Admishra
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. As a standard UK socket correct installation to the regulations requires an Earth connection, regardless of what material the socket will be mounted on.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2019-03-24

Wire for sockett

Hi can you wire armoured cable in a shed to this or will the cable be two thick for connecting to plug
Asked by: Carpboy
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. The terminals in this British General 13A 2-Gang RCD Switched Plug Socket Metal-Clad will accept up to:- 3 x 2.5mm², 3 x 4mm² or 2 x 6.0mm² cables, so these are your limits for any SWA cable to be connected to it.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2019-03-10

Can you plug a multi gang extension lead into the sockets

Asked by: SooobyDoo
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. The sockets in this British General 13A 2-Gang RCD Switched Plug Socket Metal-Clad will cope with any standard load on a fused UK plug, so yes you can connect a multi-socket extension lead to either or both of the sockets.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2018-11-18

if outdoor lights are plug in will this rcd trip if lights are affected by water

Asked by: 1964
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. This British General 13A 2-Gang RCD Switched Plug Socket Metal-Clad is designed to trip if there is an imbalance of power flow in the Live and Neutral connections which is 30mA or greater, so if such a fault was caused by water ingress into the lights in question then the socket would trip but if a lesser imbalance or no imbalance at all were caused then the socket would not trip.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2018-07-14

Use of power tools

Would this work Installed in garage to power Saws, Drills, grinders, and lawnmower
Asked by: Nigelhh
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. This British General 13A 2-Gang RCD Switched Plug Socket Metal-Clad Is rated for up to 13A (3,120W) of power to flow constantly through each socket (assuming that the circuit to which it is wired can cope with the total load). Therefore any standard UK domestic power tools should cause it no problems.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2017-12-24

Use of power tools: Saws, Drills, Grinders, Lawn mowers ect

Would this be ok Installed in the garage to use power tools: Saws, Drills, Grinders, Lawn mowers ect
Asked by: Nigelhh
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. This British General 13A 2-Gang RCD Switched Plug Socket Metal-Clad Is rated for up to 13A (3,120W) of power to flow constantly through each socket (assuming that the circuit to which it is wired can cope with the total load). Therefore any standard UK domestic power tools should cause it no problems.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2018-10-20

Front panel confusing

The front panel shows "Red ON Black OFF" Further down it says "If Red stays visible do not use" despite the same panel stating that Red is ON. Am I missing something?
Asked by: MikeSc
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. This British General 13A 2-Gang RCD Switched Plug Socket Metal-Clad uses a mechanical indicator (red) to show that power is available in the sockets. During normal operation the red indicator should be visible, but when the TEST button is pressed it should instantly disappear and the power should cut off - this is when not to use the socket if the red indicator stays visible (as it is not able to cut off power in the event of a fault anymore).
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2020-01-06

What is the diameter of the knockouts?

Asked by: Ruled
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. All British General Metal-Clad surface boxes (supplied as standard with each item from the range) have knockouts with a nominal diameter of 20mm.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2018-06-30

Can this item be installed in a ring main or must it be installed as a single spur

Asked by: Chrisjyj
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. This British General 13A 2-Gang RCD Switched Plug Socket can be installed in any ring or spur position on a circuit which would normally be occupied by a non-RCD protected 13A socket.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2017-06-01

KNOCKOUT POSITIONS

DOES THIS UNIT HAVE A KNOCKOUT ON THE TOP OF THE UNIT? ONLY VISIBLE IN PICTURES ARE ON THE SIDE AND THE REAR.
Asked by: Diablo
Hi, thank you for your product enquiry. The British General Metal-Clad range of boxes has a knockout on every side and also on the back.
Answered by: Nexus Technical Team
Date published: 2016-12-25
  • y_2020, m_8, d_11, h_16CST
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvqa, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasquestionsanswers, tq_18
  • loc_en_GB, sid_4714P, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=LOCALE, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_screwfix
  • bvseo_sdk, java_sdk, bvseo-4.0.0
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 152ms
  • QUESTIONS, PRODUCT
  • bvseo-msg: BV SEO Content for this product did not include verbose reviews.;
Specification
Active or Passive Passive
Amp Rating 13 A
Brand British General
Colour Grey
Electrical Socket Product Type Plug
Fixings Supplied Fittings Not Supplied
Insert Colour White
Knockout Size 20 mm
Manufacturer Guarantee 1 Year Guarantee
Model No MC522RCD
No. of Earth Terminals 2
Number of Gangs 2 Gang
Number of Poles Single Pole
Pack Size 1
Parent Colour Grey
Pieces in Pack/Case 1
Power Output (Watts/Kw) 3120 W
Power Voltage Supply 240 V
Product Depth 40 mm
Product Height 86 mm
Product Type RCD Switched Socket
Product Width 146 mm
Screwed/Screwless Screwed
Switched/Unswitched Switched
Switches & Sockets Finish Satin
Switches & Sockets Product Type RCD Socket
Switches & Sockets Profile Type Raised Rounded
Switch Position Outboard
Terminal Capacity Terminals accept 3 x 2.5mm², 2 x 4mm² or 1 x 6mm² cables
Total Product Weight 0.4 kg
With RCD RCD
With USB Ports Without USB
With WiFi Extender Without WiFi Extender